Pride logo

Homopro

I couldn't find an antonym for Homophobe

By Mike Singleton - MikeydredPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 3 min read
By The Author

Introduction

This story was inspired by a Facebook post from my good friend Cherri. The image is below and you can find the post on Facebook here.

Alexa Gior

I couldn't find an antonym for Homophobe. When I looked for one I got unprejudiced, impartial which really could relate to anything. It does not state that you are pro-LGBTQIA+ just that you are unprejudiced and impartial and therefore probably pro-LGBTQIA+ but it does not hit you with that concept, and I think we need something that has the same impact of using the word homophobe but for pro-LGBTQIA+ people.

LGBT+ And Being Homopro

I often get confused by keeping up with pronouns and the gender spectrum, but that is part of learning about what humanity is. Here is Wiki's entry on this.

To me everyone is human and every decent person deserves respect. I qualified that with the word "decent" because there are a lot of people in this world who do not deserve respect because they are racist, misogynistic, bullies, and homophobic.

I didn't realise until I hit my secondary school education that the prefix "homo" in the term homosexual was just Greek for "the same", but the Latin "homo" in "homo sapiens" means human. Before I learned that I thought that "homo sapiens" was another word for gay, not "wise man" that it actually means.

So homosexuality is just two people (or creatures) of the same sex who are attracted to each other. If you are attracted to someone whatever their gender position that if that feeling is reciprocated then go for it.

This makes me happy and I fully support it and that is why I am Homopro because we should support anyone who is in a loving relationship regardless of sex, race, age or anything that in the past would have been seen as a barrier to their relationship.

June 2023: Pride Month

I do believe that everyone deserves respect, and to be able to live the life they want without prejudice because of their sexual orientation. I will share some of my previous stories at the end of this piece, one of which states that I am sad that we need Pride, not because I am homophobic, but because it is a failing of society that we have to tell everyone that this is fine.

To be quite honest I actually love getting caught up in Pride events because they are so life-affirming and inclusive, and the colours and music just leave you with a feeling of love and euphoria.

I have many friends who are all over the sexual spectrum and to me they are great friends who are bright stars in my life. I see their posts on Facebook and social media and they always make me smile.

I think that every month should be a Pride month until Pride just becomes part of everyday life.

Sexuality is not something that we choose, it is what we are, and we should not be criticized for it. Society seems to be always looking to compartmentalize people and fit them into boxes that fit with their defined norms. That eventually becomes bullying and is part of how people start to feel justified in racist, homophobic and misogynistic attitudes.

"Oh, they are not white/men/straight so it's ok to attack and denigrate them" seems to be a prevalent attitude and that is not acceptable in a caring modern society.

Conclusion.

Here are a couple of pieces of mine related to Pride and showing support for everyone.

I hope that you have enjoyed and taken something from this.

I think Janelle Monáe's "Americans" is perfect for this piece, especially the spoken word section.

So go on, BE A HOMOPRO!!!!!

Pride Month

About the Creator

Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Weaver of Tales & Poems

7(1.2m) ֎ Fb ֎ Px ֎ Pn ֎

X ֎ In ֎ YT (0.2m) ֎ T

Vocal Tips

Creationati

Call Me LesGina HeatherCaroline

BabsROCKDharCathyJudeyAnna

DaphsamMisty MelissaMa Coombs

Carol

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (5)

  • Anthony Staufferabout a year ago

    I am absolutely HOMOPRO, Mike! I love this!

  • I'm HOMOPRO! Like you said, love is love regardless the gender. I feel that it is not our business who people love and that people who love each other always deserve to be together. And it would really piss me off when some people start to play the religion card. As if they follow everything religion tells them to do. Dumb people, lol!

  • Homopro & homoprolific. Until the day arrives when no child, youth, young adult or any other is not afraid to express who they are in loving mutuality, "this is not my America!"

  • Melissa Ingoldsbyabout a year ago

    Love this brother you are very sweet we need more people like you in this world

  • Babs Iversonabout a year ago

    Well said!!! Left a heart ♥

Mike Singleton - MikeydredWritten by Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.