Pride logo

Nonsense Clogged Up The Drain Today

Soggy Pronouns Dripping From Your Lips

By Oneg In The ArcticPublished 29 days ago 2 min read
11
Nonsense Clogged Up The Drain Today
Photo by Jorge Fernández on Unsplash

Left a poem in the shower today

Let it drip down my thighs and down the drain

Thought maybe if these words were watered down a bit

Then this potent elixir might pass as a juice box in disguise

Too sweet

Void of any sustenance

Comfortable, leaving a giggly impression in the pit of your stomach

Simple for you to swallow

My words

Easy for you to lap up

But keep you up late at night

I wrote this poem so many times

So many revisions it’s lost its flavour

Dummy juice

For the man who thinks neutral pronouns mean they don’t matter

Who took two years to check a box off because it was convenient for you when it was inconvenient for me

In the doorway I felt framed

A cheap commodity at the grocery store

You mention calling me “ma’am” and wondered if it was wrong

Didn’t quite wait to be told otherwise

I wrote this poem so many times

Trying to water down my identity for you when really

Fuck you

Guess not every cuss flowed down the drain pipe

One stuck like a long hair in my ass

I try not to think of you as that pain

But really, I do not owe you anything

And the dead protein that disengages from the top of me is yet more significant than your political correctness

I am not your campaign

Not your bargaining chip of wokeness and sensitivity

I do not owe you even a strand of my complex and shimmering identity from the tip of my head

My identity is a vast galaxy filled with bright brilliant stars

You

Are barely a speck of dust floating through my infinite universe

I am limitless

Not bound by your “yes ma’am”

Nor by the doorframe you thought to capture me in

I wrote this poem so many times I didn’t think much was left to say but

Words must have bubbled up the drain

Clogged by your insignificance

And my pronouns that you can’t even begin to put your mouth around and attempt to suck dry

Identity
11

About the Creator

Oneg In The Arctic

A storyteller and poet of arctic adventures, good food, identity, mental health, and more.

Co-founder of Queer Vocal Voices

Some other rad writers to check out:

James ❄️ TheDaniWriter ❄️ Melissa

RiverJoy ❄️ J. Delaney-Howe ❄️

Water is Life ✊

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (8)

Sign in to comment
  • The Dani Writer27 days ago

    My "Wowness" at this comes from many places... ...how visceral it felt reading it since you penned raw emotions like a pro. ...the way you layered it so that the reader can go back, read and get lost in a line. A question. A train or thought. And STILL be held by your poem at the end. ...the way you held another person as the example/object lesson to help provide guidance and remove some apprehension. Some people (myself included) don't have this down 100% yet and want to get it right. ...the open thoughts and feelings of yourself both foreground and background and the unfiltered honesty with which you shared 🥲 ...that shower imagery. Damn...nailed it with that. Thank you for baring and sharing! I honour your presence here at this moment in time.

  • Cathy holmes27 days ago

    I'm glad your poem bubbled back up the drain. It's brilliant.

  • More than just live & let live, let us care & be sensitive to & curious about one another with a spirit of both celebration & empathy. You do you & I'll do me & together our world will come to be.

  • Powerful poem. The long lines surrounding "fuck you" especially knock it out of the park. Beautiful work and incredible emotion. Loved it!

  • Rene Peters29 days ago

    This is incredible!

  • Test29 days ago

    This is so good.

  • Ohhh this was bloody brilliant and so relatable my friend

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.