Pride logo

to the standoff outside the bus stop

A poem seared in my memory

By Oneg In The ArcticPublished about a month ago 1 min read
Top Story - March 2024
34
to the standoff outside the bus stop
Photo by Mykola/Kolya Korzh on Unsplash

I remember the anger boiling in my stomach

I never truly understood the meaning of an emotion physically in motion until that moment

But in that moment

blood thicken and churned

skin rustled like bracing-for-it metal

There was a vileness forming in the pit of bile

And I was fearful

Truly fearful

That if I crossed that line

If my fist would make contact

with your skin

If my anger would make contact

with your rage

I would not be able to stop myself

Because you

Could not stop yourself from dinner table insults

Smashing plates as metaphors for putting your foot down

Because you

Had to make my sweet friend choose between disappearing themselves just to shield their younger brother from all

your anger and

your fear and

your rage

Because you could not care

about your child’s life as it interfered with your ideas

And you

Were not there in their broken and bent and absolutely terrified-to-exist moments

Not when we stuffed as much of their existence into trash bags

As if all that was left of them was just the scraps you didn’t yet get to

We ran through the house

Panic attack fuelling survival

Just to grab onto pieces that hadn’t yet been eviscerated by your madness

I can’t even recall the escape route

But I remember every stitch and word to try to piece together what was left

Of your kid

Of my friend…

So when I stood there boiling over

Venom coating teeth

Seething eyes ready to kill

I thought to myself

That I might really cross that line of no return

Because you

You changed something in me

Because

I will never stop

fighting against abusive pricks like you

-

This poem was originally intended for QVV’s Queer Sensory challenge, but I just went on a flashback ride with it and I don’t even know if it works. Trauma always lingers. But it’s also empowering to finally write out something that happened almost 10 years ago.

Check out the challenge below:

HumanityIdentity
34

About the Creator

Oneg In The Arctic

A storyteller and poet of arctic adventures, good food, identity, mental health, and more.

Co-founder of Queer Vocal Voices

Some other rad writers to check out:

James ❄️ TheDaniWriter ❄️ Melissa

RiverJoy ❄️ J. Delaney-Howe ❄️

Water is Life ✊

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (21)

Sign in to comment
  • Shirley Belk20 days ago

    raw and honest...hope you never have to go (or almost go) outside of your character in a situation like that again. Love the loyalty and protection for your friend.

  • Congratulations on your top story

  • Ameer Bibi30 days ago

    Congratulations for top story lovely very well written powerful stuff

  • Caroline Janeabout a month ago

    Oooooofffffff! Powerful stuff. Visceral! Love it!

  • Anna about a month ago

    Congrats on Top Story!🥳🥳🥳

  • Caroline Cravenabout a month ago

    Oof. Could feel that blistering rage. This was epic.

  • angela hepworthabout a month ago

    really powerful, love and best wishes to your friend

  • Andrea Corwin about a month ago

    It works. I hate ignorant mean people. You wrote it instead of destroying the abuser. Nice work and I feel bad for your friend.

  • Kelli Sheckler-Amsdenabout a month ago

    Congratulations on such an impressive piece

  • Melissa Ingoldsbyabout a month ago

    Damn this was so real and genuine. I'm Blown away from your utter honest and vivid piece here my friend 😍

  • Kendall Defoe about a month ago

    Top Story? Of course! 🏅

  • River Joyabout a month ago

    Yeahhh! Top story 🖤

  • Lily Séjorabout a month ago

    It is all so raw, especially that rage. I hope your friend is okay. 💛

  • Cathy holmesabout a month ago

    Congrats on the TS

  • Cathy holmesabout a month ago

    That was powerful. I could feel the anger seething through. Really well written.

  • Hannah Mooreabout a month ago

    Very powerful.

  • It works, Oneg. It most definitely works. Everything from the heartache to the murderous rage welling up from deep within, desperate to escape, ever so viscerally described.

  • River Joyabout a month ago

    Wow. I just. Wow. This was visceral and harrowing and I felt every single word. Goddamn this is so good.

  • Babs Iversonabout a month ago

    Felt the emotions!!! Awesome!!!💕❤️❤️

  • ROCK about a month ago

    I felt this with you, again. I truly understand flashbacks, "PTSD" derived from family trauma, rejection and how it derails us over and over. Staying on track is not as easy as others make it sound. I am so sorry this happened yet I think it's important to write about pain. Hugs, ROCK

  • Celia in Underlandabout a month ago

    Oneg this left me shaking, I could feel the absolute fury jumping off the page. I am sorry you ever had to feel that and fir your friend too.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.