Poets logo

Yūgen

Morning near Hakone

By Hannah MoorePublished 19 days ago Updated 19 days ago 1 min read
21

Rain sounds on hard ground.

Cherry blooms and falls at once.

We half-turn to home.

Author's note: On our penultimate night in Japan, we stayed in a small house near Hakone. We arrived after dark, exhausted and hungry, but come the morning, I pulled open the paper shoji doors to find the small office space pictured above. I was called, as I am sure anyone here would have been, to take five minutes to write a little haiku. There I am, above, writing it.

I will follow up this haiku shortly with an invitation, as I made a discovery that excited me somewhat in the process of writing it, but that is for another story...

One which you can now find here.

Haiku
21

About the Creator

Hannah Moore

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (17)

Sign in to comment
  • Cathy holmes18 days ago

    I just found this one. Beautiful.

  • Alexander McEvoy18 days ago

    'We half turn to home" Wow I know that feeling all too well at the end of a trip, Hannah. The sense that we aren't quite ready to be done yet, but also longing for familiar surroundings, our own beds, and the routines we're used to. Beautiful haiku :)

  • Tiffany Gordon 18 days ago

    Beautiful work Hannah! Your hair is gorgeous btw!!!!

  • Teresa Renton19 days ago

    Lovely Haiku Hannah. I will have a ponder and see if I can come up with anything. Japan is definitely on my list and I’m dying to go. Maybe I could commission a piece on how to go about organising a trip to Japan (for Dummies)?

  • Both your Haiku and photos are beautiful! Happy you're having an amazing time!

  • Kodah19 days ago

    Incredible work!! 💝

  • John Cox19 days ago

    OK, I posted a 7-7. https://vocal.media/poets/petals-n76h09k8

  • John Cox19 days ago

    Lovely Haiku! I will try and give it a go. Thanks for the invite, Hannah, and welcome back!

  • Jay Kantor19 days ago

    Arigato Hannah - I was deployed to Southern Japan for a year, I've written about it "Cultural Exchange." We traveled up down on the 'Bullitt' and the 1st thing I learned to say was: "Ikuradesu (how much does it cost). The Cherry Blossom Season is so memorable. At the Hiroshima peace museum students surrounded us on Sunday's to practice their English and Vice-Versa - So glad you enjoyed - j.in.l.a.

  • Joe O’Connor19 days ago

    I don’t know much about Japan but would love to go! Great photos Hannah:)

  • D. J. Reddall19 days ago

    Deftly done!

  • D.K. Shepard19 days ago

    How delightful! What a beautiful place to put pen to paper! Lovely haiku!

  • Dana Crandell19 days ago

    A beautiful kaiku that invokes wonderful imagery, including auditory vibes. Well done, Hannah!

  • Thavien Yliaster19 days ago

    Now this, this is a haiku. Especially since You're on Your trip, this feels like a true tribute to the Origin of haikus.

  • Rachel Deeming19 days ago

    Hope you had a great time. What a wonderful way to return, with a haiku (so apt!) and the picture to illustrate it. Paul and I were just chit-chatting about you today.

  • Matthew Fromm19 days ago

    Ohh man I hope it’s been a good trip! I’m very jealous

  • Paul Stewart19 days ago

    Love this and good to have something new to read by you! Hope the holiday has been great! :) Well done.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.