Poets logo

You Reminded Me This Morning Why I Asked You To Marry Me

That Gorgeous Smile… Those Stunning Eyes

By Lightning BoltPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 2 min read
18
B & D 4evah!

On some (rare) days we wake up, and we just aren’t right

Might have been some bad dreams left bad energy overnight

We grumble and glare at each other, and unintentionally frustrate

Sometimes our moods turn mean and dark, as disappointments dominate

💙

So many days we wake up, and we just feel blah

We barely talk at all for fear of making some faux pas

We don't even try to hide our preference for being alone

We both mutter "I love you," while playing games on our phones

💚

Some days I still wake up, and I wonder who I am!

I never thought I’d dream sweet dreams while sleeping beside a man

He stole my world, and rocked my heart, and flipped my paradigm!

I look at him and start to cry, thrilled that he is mine!

💘

Some special days we wake up, and we shine especially bright

He grins at me and dazzles my heart, with his soul's brilliant light

We poke each other and argue about which one of us loves who more

We both agree he was built for me, and I was made to help him soar

💙+💚=💘⚡⚡⚡

Days like today, my fiancé 🌈🌞🌈

You make me grateful I'm alive!

Team Lightning has drive! ⚡

In my quest to make you happy, I'll go the extra mile

There is no greater blessing to me than your laugh and smile!

Our good days outnumber the bad ones by about sixty-to-one

I've never had so much fun!

You’re my Twin Flame, 💙🔥🔥💚

⚡💘 My Great Romance,

🥰⚡ My Confidant & Closest Friend!

So?

When we wake up tomorrow...

... can we do this all again? 🤞

(..... and repeat forever and ever and ever until the Universe ends?) ❤️

_______________Bolt

This poem is Dedicated to D.A.K., inspired, written, and published all on the same fantastic Thursday, March 31, 2022.

He said 'Yes'!!!! on 5/16/2021 a.k.a. The Greatest Day of My Life (so far)!

I have published a lot of horror stories here on Vocal, and also Sci-fi, Superhero yarns, Comedy, Pride fiction, a FYI series on prophets, and a lot of generally weird shit. This 👆 is my very first autobiographic Love Poem. 😳 All the other poems that I've already published feature fictional characters in (screaming->) fictional situations.

The last time I attempted love poetry was when I was a teenager in high school— way, waaaaay back in the 1970s! I woke up this morning with no clue I would spontaneously write this poem today, but then: that smile! that face! When he beams at me and I see his love for me in his eyes, I just melt.

I am truly Blessed! 🥰

This is My Declaration of Eternal Affection!

3/31/2022

And I also got a haircut today!

⚡😁👍

D & B/Bolt

💘

love poems
18

About the Creator

Lightning Bolt

From out of the blue, _Bolt writes horror galore, Sci-Fi, Superheroes & strange Poetry + MEME-ing MADNESS X12.

Vocal needs a Comedy Community!

Proud member of the Vocal Social Society on Facebook.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • J. Delaney-Howe2 years ago

    So sweet...

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.