Poets logo

Delusions on the Rocks

While on these Premises: Please Drink Irresponsibly!

By Lightning BoltPublished 3 years ago Updated 2 years ago 4 min read
23

In the state of Delirium,

~~ on the shores of the Gibbering Sea

My mad lover pines for me

In the city of Dementia,

~~ at the end of Unbalanced Lane

My lover slowly drinks herself insane

In the loony bin in the corner,

~~ at the back of the Bedlam Bar

My sad lover licks her scars

Under pin-prick lights from the disco ball,

~~ by the electro-shock machine

-- Ed: everyone's favorite the electro-shocker--

-------->> My crazy lover drinks and schemes <----

Liquid Trickery

On her best days, she’s a maniac!

On her worst days, she’s likely to attack!

On bad hair days, you might just hear her SCREAM!!!!

On our wedding day, she was giddy and she was mean!

"BITCHES!!!!"

She buzzes from bees in her bonnet

~~~ and rattles from loose screws!

She’s one noodle shy of being soup!

She’s bereft of all reason, a daft dopey dunderhead!

Is it any wonder why we wed?

"You may giddy-up the bride!"

At parties, she’s always a madcap cut-up!

In private, she's a lunatic who won't shut up!

She’s got some major issues she needs to work out

Meanwhile, her melancholy makes her shout and pout

"BIIIIIITCHES!!!!"

Her mother suffered from kleptodipsomania

Her father thought he was the king of Lithuania

Dad

As a child, her imaginary friend was a raving loon

As a teen, she took to baying at the moon

"BIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIITCHES!!!!!!!!"

And when the Mafia had her entire family whacked

By a deadly, silent mime attack

She went a little berserk and then she cracked

But she left behind her marbles and didn’t look back

She laughed aloud at the lucidity that she lacked

Coherency was a monkey on her back

Freedom is the inability to keep track

Her entire family (except mom & Uncle Shaky-- not pictured here)

~~I MET HER IN COLLEGE

on the day they put me in the stocks ~~~

Detention in the stocks again

My mad lover looked adorable in jester socks!

Adorable!

Now she sits in the dark

And goes mad raving stark

~~Drinking delusions

~~~~~~~~ on the rocks

Delusions

Drinking delusions

~~~~~~~~ on the rocks~~

on the rocks

The bouncer at the Bedlam Bar is a blathering boob

The waitresses are rabid, unruly, and rude

The bipolar bartender can either be depressed or lewd

While serving catatonic patrons through IV tubes

Double Price Happy Hour bilks the rubes

And my crazy lover drinks to delude

"I think it was the fanatic pipe dream mixed with lime vodka that got me."

The jukebox at the Bedlam Bar plays a jackal’s song

While the older psychos discuss just what went wrong

The bipolar bartender is bonkers to serve that throng

He wants them To All Just Get Along

The only video game they have is Pong

On the men’s room door is a picture of Mao Zedong

Ping!

The phobics at the Bedlam Bar are afraid to drink

The narcissists are only there to cruise the twinks

The bipolar bartender was nervous when her saw her wink

My mad lover likes to make a stink

She can say the weirdest things and never blink

Need Internet hysteria? She has the link

Bedlam Bar employee training

Dimwits and halfwits and lackwits and lunkheads

Thick-skulls and numbskulls, idiots and imbeciles

The ninnies, the nincompoops, the zanies, the dolts

The schizoid, the disordered, the neurotic, the oafs

Of all the befuddled simpletons being served at the Bedlam Bar

My mad lover is the most muddled by far!

"Did anyone get the license plate of that padded truck?"

Most of the sops who drink twisted booze

Mistakenly believe they have nothing left to lose (loose?)

Even though she’s paranoid!

About getting null and void!

My mad lover is more than fit and able!

To drink the dizziest dullard under the table!!

She guzzles hallucinations like they’re going out of style!!!

She inundates herself with liquor like the unhinged Nile!!!!!!

It starts with a sip....
.... and then it's GLUG!
glug glug glug
glug!
glug, glug, <BURRRRRP!> glug, glug
"FUCK YOU, BITCHES!!!"
glug, glug, glug, glub, glub, glug
sip!
glug, glug, glug, glug, glug <gasp> gluggy glubbity gluggy glubby
glug glug glug <hiccup> gluggy gluggy, glug, glug, glug.... glug <hiccup>
GLUG!!!
"whut?!?"

In the city of Dementia,

~~~~ on the shores of the Gibbering Sea

My mad lover drinks to me!

When I get out of this Asylum,

~~~~~ I’m going to Unbalanced Lane

Even though I can’t remember my lover’s name!

In the loony bin in the corner, I’ll take her into my arms

And do my mad lover some serious harm!!

"Just a figment of your imagination, baby! Just another bad wet dream....."

I love her madly even though she drives me insane!

I can’t wait to lovingly bash out her brains!!!

Yum!

My mad lover looks yummy in jester socks!

My mad lover drinks delusions on the rocks!

Bottoms up, cuckoos!

In a tavern near the Drooling Oddity Docks

My mad lover drinks Delusions on the Rocks!

"Fears!" clink! {there are no cheers here}
"I win, bitches!!!!!!!!"
"Another Metal Mental Decay Boogie Fever Frenzied Friday! BET!!!"
DELUSIONS on the ROCKS-- a demented poem by William Markly O'Neal
THE inebriated ignis fatuus END

If you need therapy after that ☝ ... try this 👇.

And while the Bedlam Bar doesn't play actual music... if it did, this would be the playlist. 👇 😁👍

Heart/like, subscribe, tip, or pledge as you see fit. I'm grateful for your readership.

Thank you kindly for your support!

_____________Bolt

surreal poetry
23

About the Creator

Lightning Bolt

From out of the blue, _Bolt writes horror galore, Sci-Fi, Superheroes & strange Poetry + MEME-ing MADNESS X12.

Vocal needs a Comedy Community!

Proud member of the Vocal Social Society on Facebook.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Dawn Salois2 years ago

    Wonderfully crazy ride!

  • Heather Hubler2 years ago

    Oh my goodness, this was so much fun and so well done! "Drink up, cuckoos" had me rolling. I loved it!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.