Poets logo

Wings For a Purpose

What the Birds Taught Me Today

By Judey Kalchik Published 5 months ago Updated 5 months ago 2 min read
Top Story - December 2023
23
https://pixabay.com/users/6591713-6591713/

I was watching the birds through the window this morning as I got ready for work.

I noticed that the mourning doves were pecking around on the ground beneath the feeder,

and the sparrows, finches and what we Pennsylvanians called "sputzies"

were flying in and out of the feeders, scattering seed all over the place.

As I watched the doves moving slowly

through the light dusting of snow

eating the teeny bits falling down from the feeders,

I waited for them to look up

and see the TONS of seeds just over their heads.

With a bit more effort, they could fly up and eat seed

to their heart's content.

But that isn't what mourning doves do.

At least, not MY doves.

No.

They sit under the feeder

eating chaff and the teeny hard seeds the other birds don't want.

So. That made me think.

I was watching myself.

I see a good thing... an unheard of thing: seeds!

(Or Praise. Success. Dreams fulfilled.)

"On the ground! Where I can reach!

Wow! I'm gonna get me some o'that!"

And there I sit,

waiting for more of the good stuff,

happy eating the icky stuff.

If I would just look up!...

put a bit more effort into it....

question if that is all there is....

pay attention!...

be truly present!

Kapow!!!

What else am I missing

by believing that all I deserve is the stuff on the ground?

The leavings from others?

When did I learn to believe that I wasn't allowed the top-shelf,

the cream of the crop?

When did I decide it was OK to settle?

I hear you now.

I am listening now, o my heart.

You have been telling me I can be anything I set my mind to be.

It is never too late to start over.... never to late look up.

I can begin every day to be the person I had planned to be.

I have wings for a purpose.

Watch me stretch out! Watch me fly!

~

Comments welcomed!

inspirational
23

About the Creator

Judey Kalchik

It's my time to find and use my voice.

Poetry, short stories, memories, and a lot of things I think and wish I'd known a long time ago.

You can also find me on Medium

And please follow me on Threads, too!

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  1. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (22)

Sign in to comment
  • Donna Fox (HKB)5 months ago

    This was really relatable for me, Judey! I feel the melancholia and the inspiration to be better/ accept better/ strive for better! This was such a great thought provoking poem! Congrats on Top Story!

  • Caroline Jane5 months ago

    I am looking forward to you flying!!! 🥰 This reminded me of Charles Bukowski's "Bluebird" in sentiment albeit almost in reverse. Congratulations on TS. I hope this is entered into the Identity challenge. 🥰

  • J. S. Wade5 months ago

    Beautifully written. You’re an Eagle Judey. 🥰

  • How inspiring Judey. I really enjoyed reading this. Such great observations and wonderful message.

  • The Dani Writer5 months ago

    Oh MY! What a LESSON! Great poem Judey! Great share!

  • Leslie Writes5 months ago

    I think I needed to hear this, Judey! 🩷 Thank you for sharing!

  • Davina Zinn McKee5 months ago

    This is the kind of self-reflective and honest writing that I love most. 👏🏻

  • An inspirational piece , excellent work Judey

  • Paul Stewart5 months ago

    Yay! effing yay! Congrats on a fine fine Top Story, Judey!

  • Kendall Defoe 5 months ago

    Top Story? Indeed... Now, keep flying... ;)

  • Kenny Penn5 months ago

    This little piece is so inspiring Judey, I absolutely love it! Don’t settle when you deserve better, great message!

  • Whoaaa! That blew my mind! I mean, it's so true. We shouldn't just settle. We gotta spread our wings and fly!

  • Most bird feeders are designed for smaller songbirds & would be extremely awkward for larger birds to perch & feed. What they haven't learned is that by simply bumping into it they can knock tons of seed to the ground where they can feast. They are content with what they have (which isn't a bad lesson to learn either). That having been said, I like your lessons learned even better.

  • Babs Iverson5 months ago

    Like get out of your comfort zone and take risk!!! Inspiring!!! Love your poem, Judey!!!❤️❤️💕

  • Hannah Moore5 months ago

    What a glorious observation.

  • Jay Kantor5 months ago

    Hi 'j' ~ Just recently our 'hood 'Doves' had babies in our Garden-Pot-Supervisors, Mz. PoTtyMouths, residence. She didn't like that at all...! Fascinating watching Mom/Dad changing off guarding the youngins. HaPpy Holiday - 'j' -

  • Test5 months ago

    I really enjoyed the thoughtfulnes and inspirational message in this. Nature has a lot to teach us if only we'd listen. I don't rememer why or when I stopped looking up but I did 🤍

  • marie e ehlenbach5 months ago

    A thought of beautiful inspiration!

  • Dana Crandell5 months ago

    What a very uplifting (Pun intended, maybe?) piece. On googlling sputzies, I found a very enjoyable article, too, (by a Pennsylvanian) so now I know that I enjoy watching them all, as well as the doves. Thanks for the new word, and you go get the good stuff!

  • Paul Stewart5 months ago

    Well now. what a lovely bit of natural poetry with a truly inspirational and aspirational meaning. You should reach for whatever you desire, you deserve it as much as anyone. And again, another poem you've written that makes me stop, think and also marvel at nature. Also love "sputzies"

  • Mother Combs5 months ago

    really makes one think. Thank you for sharing

  • Denise E Lindquist5 months ago

    It is beautiful! So cool!! Love it! Poetry is so healing and freeing and joyful.😊💕

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.