Poets logo

For Becky

And for everyone that has shared their struggles

By Judey Kalchik Published 5 months ago 1 min read
Top Story - December 2023
37
https://pixabay.com/users/distelapparath-2726923/

There was a night that I sat at a table-

-alone-

with a glass of sherry in front of me.

(Nasty stuff, that cheap sherry.

But I don’t drink much, and what did I know?)

I sat and thought about the tired,

sad,

messy business my life had become.

I briefly considered walking down the road-

-any road-

until I found someone else out wandering,

and I could rest my head on their shoulder and warm my hands in theirs.

But, I didn’t.

I wasn’t as brave as you.

I didn’t want anyone to know how soul-seared and brain-bogged I felt.

The sad stayed in my pocket,

-wadded up with the gas station and Dairy Queen receipts-

and dragged my heart down

down

down.

I wish I had been as open as you.

I wish I'd found more courage.

I wish I’d known that the feeling would pass.

I wish I’d thought of sharing it-

-airing it out and drying it off.

I’m sitting here this morning,

instead,

remembering that me and so proud of this you

and sending you light.

Shine.

Shine on forever.

~

Comments welcomed.

sad poetryinspirationalheartbreak
37

About the Creator

Judey Kalchik

It's my time to find and use my voice.

Poetry, short stories, memories, and a lot of things I think and wish I'd known a long time ago.

You can also find me on Medium

And please follow me on Threads, too!

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

Add your insights

Comments (26)

Sign in to comment
  • Lamar Wiggins5 months ago

    I’m happy this was recognized by vocal on the RYV thread! Truly eye opening. Congrats, Judy!

  • Novel Allen5 months ago

    Ah, it is great to have company. The been there, done that company. Stay strong. You are not alone. Brave warriors are we, by your side. Shine on, yesterday, carry us away to brighter days of light. Congrats.

  • Hannah Moore5 months ago

    You know what this leaves me with? I want to know what journey "you" took. Like I have that sense of how we think others find something easy, or hard, depending on where we are, and I wonder a lot about what path "you" took and how that feels from the inside. Beautiful poem.

  • Manisha Dhalani5 months ago

    Beautifully written poem.

  • Carol Townend5 months ago

    This is beautiful, and I'm glad to know I'm not the only one feeling this way.

  • Donna Fox (HKB)5 months ago

    This was a very beautiful written melancholic poem, but also felt very insightful and uplifting! Great work Judey and congrats on Top Story!

  • Raymond G. Taylor5 months ago

    The sad stayed in my pocket - know that feeling so thank you for putting it into the words that so often escape me. Congratulations on a deserved TS

  • Cathy holmes5 months ago

    Beautiful piece. Congrats on the TS.

  • Mackenzie Davis5 months ago

    The “down, down” dropped my heart. I saw the sadness in the pocket so clearly too. Superb poem.

  • JBaz5 months ago

    I am so glad this was on the Vocal Thread This just hit me and awoke my emotions

  • Paul Stewart5 months ago

    Scottish people by definition often find it hard to be open about their feelings, but Italians are marvellous at being emotional lol. So I feel like I have got stuck at the crossroads so many times. Sometimes I am good at sharing...other times I'm not. That's why I try to be so brutally honest and open in writing - because I'm not ready yet to face counselling? This is a beautiful piece, Judey. Your poetry continues to amaze me and I'm glad Vocal highlighted this because I missed it when it was first published. Congrats on a deserving and important Top Story!

  • Tressa Rose5 months ago

    Very well said. Definitely can relate, very well done ❤️

  • Catherine Dorian5 months ago

    A poignant, elegant rendition of the regret that plagues those of us who struggle to open up. In some ways, this also reads like an ode to the type of people that we envy: that is, those who can.

  • Kenny Penn5 months ago

    So very relatable, Judey, I will be thinking about this poem for hours. Opening up is so hard for me, but sometimes I wish I had to the right people

  • Not me thinking you were gonna say walk down the road and get hit by a car, lol. I resonated deeply with your poem. I wish that I can be more open about sharing my feelings and troubles.

  • Colt Henderson5 months ago

    Beautiful.

  • JBaz5 months ago

    Very beautiful

  • Tiffany Gordon 5 months ago

    gorgeous work Judey!

  • Babs Iverson5 months ago

    Fabulous inspirational poem!!! Impressively written!!!💕❤️❤️

  • Jay Kantor5 months ago

    ‘J’ — Not entirely certain with many of your stories aren’t written in the 3rd person. But such lovely ‘Schtick’ — L’Chaim 🍷— The other ‘j’

  • Elaine Sihera5 months ago

    Amazing poem that is so relatable. Great post, Judey!

  • Joe Patterson5 months ago

    Breathtaking.

  • Mother Combs5 months ago

    Such a heart-touching piece. Love it.

  • Dana Crandell5 months ago

    Heartbreaking, inspirational and powerful. Being the weirdo that I am, I really like the fact that the poem is followed up immediately by the first words on your profile: "It's my time to find and use my voice."

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.