Poets logo

What Good Are Promises?

My promise.

By RabbitPublished 12 days ago 1 min read
1
What Good Are Promises?
Photo by Bogdan Cotos on Unsplash

I made you a promise once.

To be there for you no matter what.

Together or not, in the good and bad, here I am.

For the rest of my life.

Until one of us no longer exists here.

And when I meet my creator and they ask "Did you keep all your promises?"

I'll simply nod while I stand next to them.

I kept one promise, Creator.

I smile in a form that isn't earthly.

Thinking about that one soul.

It was a test of loyalty but an honor to make.

I'm telling you, test it now.

Or maybe there will be a day you really need it.

I'll be holding out my hand for you to take.

You can call it crazy.

Maybe I over took my devotion.

Shake your head and say it's not real or true.

You're going to tell me you don't deserve it.

You have it anyway.

What good are promises if they're not for life?

love poems
1

About the Creator

Rabbit

I see the world a little differently than most. Even at a young age I was writing down what I saw but never sharing it with a soul until now. I'm choosing love over fear.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Alex H Mittelman 12 days ago

    Amazing poem! Well done!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.