Poets logo

Waters of My Mind (II)

stream of consciousness

By Kristen BalyeatPublished 8 months ago Updated 8 months ago 1 min read
17
Waters of My Mind (II)
Photo by Jeremy Bishop on Unsplash

are the lessons ever easy

do the teachings ever quit

does moving forward ever feel lighter

is there a path that doesn’t split

do the blazes continue igniting

because there’s something i’ve yet to learn

can i allow the fire to change my landscape

constantly surrendering to the burn

why are my edges are always steep

the crag always intense

do i have to be the belayer and the lead

anchoring the pitch

can i continue to stand steady

and face the gale force winds

finding pliability to avoid rigidity

and the stamina to transcend

do i have to tear down the bridge

or can i rip out the rotted beams

replacing them with new unweathered trusses

or do i have to go to extremes

can i somehow become stronger

acquiring more resolve

at the same time could i be softer

are there more walls i should dissolve

can i release roughness around my edges

callouses i’ve grown to shield my scars

and still be moldeable through the process

with a receptive and maleable heart

where’s the balance in holding firm

to the lessons already learned

and letting go of the resolute

allowing new ideals to churn

can i be a conduit for new streams of thought

flowing gently without force

changing the foundation of the bedrock

altering the rivers course

can i flow with the winds of change

once again shifting my fields anew

releasing the old into the breeze

making room for something new

………………………………………………………

If you’d like to read part one:

nature poetryinspirational
17

About the Creator

Kristen Balyeat

Words fly to me on the wind, bump into me as I'm strolling the city, splash me in the face while I rest by the river, and shake me awake in the middle of the night– I’m humbly one of the many vessels they use to come to life.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

Add your insights

Comments (13)

Sign in to comment
  • Grz Colm7 months ago

    I’m trying to find a comment from you from the other day..hah..and realised I missed this piece.. I wish my sister liked poetry and could read it as I found myself thinking of her.. such a push/pull of emotions in your writing which I responded to. Maybe I will show it to her after all who knows. Many thoughtful and introspective stanzas that I don’t know where to start! ☺️👏

  • This was so good, insightful. Reflective, thought provoking as always you continue to impress

  • Poppy 8 months ago

    Wow, this is so powerful and relatable. This line 'why are my edges are always steep' and this stanza: 'can i somehow become stronger acquiring more resolve at the same time could i be softer are there more walls i should dissolve' especially connected with me, but they were all amazingly written.

  • L.C. Schäfer8 months ago

    Ah, the paradox. That which is soft, is strong ❤

  • Your poems are always so breathtakingly beautiful! This one was just so powerful!

  • You’re easily one favourite poets Kristen. The music was stunning and truly made for an immersive experience that I thoroughly enjoyed ❤️🙏✨

  • Ahna Lewis8 months ago

    Excellent! Your poetry is always so thought-provoking, Kristen!

  • Test8 months ago

    Beautifully done. I hope to get the answers to some of these questions some day.... perhaps a part 2 with answers and a how-to?💙 Anneliese

  • That tension among standing firm, adapting, or being so far gone it all has to be torn down so you can start anew. I believe in you, Kristen, & from what you've shared with us, I'm pretty sure your husband & kids do too.

  • So gorgeous I will absolutely read part one!

  • Mohammed Darasi8 months ago

    Very smooth rhyming and flow in this poem Kristen, and I love the imagery here as well. Great questions about change of mindset.. old Vs new.. very thought provoking

  • Real Poetic8 months ago

    The flow is capturing. I love your consciousness poems! Well-done and thanks for sharing.

  • Joelle E🌙8 months ago

    I love this style and flow for u, and the messages u expressed!! ✨ great poem

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.