Poets logo

r e l e a s e (II)

stream of consciousness

By Kristen BalyeatPublished 9 months ago Updated 9 months ago 3 min read
15
r e l e a s e (II)
Photo by Pascal Meier on Unsplash

n e w

s o n g

c o m p o s e d

new

n o t e s

w r i t t e n

by my

s o u l

quietly

e c h o i n g

in the

s p a c e

where

h e a v i n e s s

left a

c h a s m i c

h o l e

slowly

s h a k i n g

off the

b a l l a d

of the

d a r k

and

h e a v y

night

s h a d o w s

m o r p h e d

and

t r a n s f o r m e d

~s h i f t i n g~

into

l i g h t

* * *

b i r t h e d

anew

by

s t a r s

e m b r a c e d

by

i l l u m i n a t e

sparks

i g n i t i n g

new

h o p e

in my

s p i r i t

p e r m e a t i n g

my

h e a r t

t o s s e d

by

c o s m i c

j o y

d i p p e d

into

c o n s t e l l a t i o n s

w r a p p e d

in the

warm

c e l e s t i a l

g l o w

of

e t h e r e a l

i l l u m i n a t i o n

d a n c i n g

with the

m o o n

m e r g i n g

with the

l i g h t

once

d a r k

and

h e a v y

now

s a t u r a t e d

with

l i f e

* * *

s l o w l y

rising

c e l e b r a t i o n

r e v e r b e r a t e s

the

s k y

a n t h e m

of my

a n c e s t o r s

a p p l a u d i n g

v i c t o r y

over

l o o p s

i

l e f t

b e h i n d

* * *

s o n g

of my

s o u l

r i s e s

in

a

n e w

and

p u r p o s e f u l

t h e m e

* p l a y *

* l a u g h t e r *

* h a p p i n e s s *

* w o n d e r *

* b e a u t y *

* c u r i o s i t y *

* l o v e *

* l i g h t *

* l i f e *

and

* p e a c e *

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

This is a sequel to my first poem, r e l e a s e

It was inspired by a comment left by Grz Colm: "maybe we'll see a sequel"

His comment popped into my head when I was out for a walk under the stars. Suddenly these words hit me and I had to stop and write this poem. Thank you, Grz, for your words that were the spark that inspired this piece!

Please check out his awesome work! I love all that Grz produces, but this is one that I read recently and it really resonated:

https://vocal.media/poets/distractions-from-source

inspirational
15

About the Creator

Kristen Balyeat

Words fly to me on the wind, bump into me as I'm strolling the city, splash me in the face while I rest by the river, and shake me awake in the middle of the night– I’m humbly one of the many vessels they use to come to life.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  1. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  4. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  5. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

Add your insights

Comments (11)

Sign in to comment
  • Rachel Deeming6 months ago

    Wonderful.

  • You’re poetry always captures me every time I read it. Amazing work

  • Magnificent ✨👌❤️ I especially love the verse (I won’t write it all!) about the ancestors and loops left behind. This is so poetically, beautifully worded and is so apt to my thoughts recently 🙏👌🙏 Beautiful work

  • Grz Colm9 months ago

    I must apologise for liking this and dashing - I just had my parents over for dinner so it was suddenly a bit of a mad rush! A terrfic piece Kristen, full of light, hope, transformation and everything else ‘nice’. “Permeating, illuminating, reverberates” have such a glorious sound - another mesmerising and auditory poem. When I got to the end I was a bit taken aback but remember the first poem well. Pleased there is a sequel 😆. Thanks so much for the kind and generous shout out! ☺️ The funny thing is a few times I have mentioned your name in comments to others “Kristen’s poem yadda yadda etc” and then you gave me a shout out and provided us a “sequel”. Ah that universe is a funny thing! 😆☺️

  • Ahhhh! This was sooooo amazing! I sang it like a song! It's just so beautiful!

  • What greater enchantment can there be than a starlit night, especially when it's shared with someone who means the world to you.

  • Naomi Gold9 months ago

    How neat that you wrote a sequel to my favorite poem of yours! (Thank you, Grz 💗.) I love the way you’ve made a hole sound appealing instead of scary. Yes, it’s just waiting to be filled with everything you desired but lacked before. All magic happens in a void space. And as always, I find your poetry enchanting. ✨

  • Dana Crandell9 months ago

    A beautiful sequel to the first!

  • Lamar Wiggins9 months ago

    Amazing sequel!!! I remember the first one blew my mind. Thank you for sharing.

  • Jay Kantor9 months ago

    Dear Ms. Kristen - It's so amazing how many of our chosen topics relate - from my Gen to yours. You know I'm not into contests but I follow yours and other Village favorites with vigor. If you have a moment please see "Pink Slip" you may have a Relatable Giggle? Jay Jay Kantor, Chatsworth, California 'Senior' Vocal Author - Vocal Author Community -

  • I resonate with a lot of those phrases 💬❤️😉👌📝💯🌟✨🦋🫧😊💚 Beautiful Piece Thanks for the Inspiration❗

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.