Poets logo

r e l e a s e

stream of consciousness

By Kristen BalyeatPublished 11 months ago Updated 11 months ago 2 min read
Top Story - June 2023
48
r e l e a s e
Photo by Lieselot. Dalle on Unsplash

h e a v i n e s s

embedded

d e e p

into my

b o n e s

i t s

presence

went

u n n o t i c e d

until

I

s t a r e d

into my

s o u l

I

tried to

p u r g e

i t

from

my

c o r e

to

u n t a n g l e

from

i t s

c l a s p

but the

s h a d o w

was a

part of

M e

wound

t i g h t l y

in

M y

g r a s p

I

wanted to

d e f e a t

it

but

I

was

a d d i c t e d

to

i t s

h o l d

what

w o u l d

I

do

w i t h o u t

i t

w i t h o u t

the

s t o r y

that

i t

t o l d

it

became

c l e a r

I

needed to

d e m o l i s h

the

c o n c e p t s

that

I

built

c o n s t r u c t e d

illusory

i d e o l o g y

started

t o p p l i n g

prefab

{I} d e n t i t i e s

began to

w i l t

I

s t r u g g l e d

in

r e l e a s e

but

i

k n e w

i

had to

e x p e l

it

to be

f r e e

i

loosened

my

g r i p

and

{s...l...o...w...l...y}

l e t

g o

as

h e a v i n e s s

~~~e v a p o r a t e d ~~~

out of

me

t o x i c

weight

that

I’d

been

c a r r y i n g

d i s s o l v e d

revealing

the

p o i s o n

it

had been

an

e x p a n s e

opened

in my

h e a r t

and

l o v e

began to

f i l t e r

in

that

p a r t

of

me

i' d

h e l d

so

t i g h t l y

took up

s p a c e

where

p e a c e

could

t h r i v e

l i g h t n e s s

flooded

every

f i b e r

and

i

finally

k n e w

the

p o w e r

of

R E L E A S I N G

to

t r u l y

b e

*a l i v e*

inspirationalsurreal poetryhow to
48

About the Creator

Kristen Balyeat

Words fly to me on the wind, bump into me as I'm strolling the city, splash me in the face while I rest by the river, and shake me awake in the middle of the night– I’m humbly one of the many vessels they use to come to life.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  4. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  5. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (35)

Sign in to comment
  • Paul Stewart9 months ago

    Directed to this because of the Spilt Milk Challenge and already said stuff further down. So will just keep it simple - flaily face.

  • Cathy holmes10 months ago

    Oh my. This is fabulous. Well done, Kristen.

  • Dean F. Hardy10 months ago

    Lovely piece, Kristen. I really enjoy your style because it's very much your own.

  • Naveedkk 11 months ago

    That was a wonderful piece of writing.

  • Jay Kantor11 months ago

    Dear Ms. Kristen - I'm so glad that I've just discovered your stories/with such gorgeous headings from your VM Tribute. *I've subscribed to you - I've always followed your thought-out lovely comments to other 'Creators' - btw: You Deep-Grasp Me - With Pleasure - Jay Jay Kantor, Chatsworth, California 'Senior' Vocal Author -Vocal Author Community~Village -

  • Test11 months ago

    Breathtakingly brilliant. Sending love, Kristen. x

  • Brenton F11 months ago

    The format and layout are no indication of the power of the words they mask! Simply brilliant!

  • Utkarsh Sinha11 months ago

    Remarkable work! Beautifully captures the transformative power of letting go. Congrats!

  • Nesou11 months ago

    🌑💔🔒 This poem reveals the weight of heaviness and the struggle to let go, but through release, it uncovers the power of embracing vulnerability and finding true liberation. 🕊️🌟💖✨🌈🌸

  • To free ourselves from those core memories, beliefs & values that bind us to dis-ease with ourselves is a remarkable thing if we can accomplish it. For most, it takes a lifetime.

  • Grz Colm11 months ago

    Just quietly back for second read of this superb piece. I think it’s a continual process of release for many. At least with me, I feel like I’ve worked things out and then fall back to ‘square one’ some days.. it’s as if it has to be practised mindfully on a regular basis.. Anyhow, congratulations on your top story. ☺️🙌

  • JamaisWang11 months ago

    I appreciate your poetry, it resonates with me

  • This really spoke to me, very well done

  • This was so powerful and liberating! It also resonated very deeply with me. If only I had the strength to let the heaviness go. Loved your poem!

  • Diani Alvarenga11 months ago

    Enjoyed reading this!

  • Real Poetic11 months ago

    The flow is spectacular! Congrats 🎊

  • Dana Crandell11 months ago

    I'm very late on commenting today and most everything about this one has already bee nsaid. Outstanding job on this one, Kristen! Congratulations!

  • Oh, This was just outstanding ❤️😉💯❗ Congratulations on your Top Story🎉🎉

  • D. ALEXANDRA PORTER11 months ago

    Excellent!

  • Abol11 months ago

    Crazy

  • Mohammed Darasi11 months ago

    It's been a while Kristen! Quite a thought provoking piece.. that heaviness is within us all, and can take so many forms.. great introspection happening here 👍🏽

  • Joelle E🌙11 months ago

    PS i would totally buy a poetry collection of yours. Just an idea 😉✨

  • Paul Stewart11 months ago

    Pretty much all of what everyone else said and what I said, but really I just came back to say congratulations on another fine entry into your catalogue and Top Story! Said it before, Say it again. Always feel a certain degree of comfort reading your work, like..I know...I'm in safe hands...even if you cover difficult subjects or whatever...always reads beautifully! Mumble over.

  • Naomi Gold11 months ago

    OMG I clicked on this so fast! I came back to comment once I got Audrey down for her nap, and it was Top Story. Congrats! 🥂 I love the language, flow, and message of this. I love the title and image you chose too. This perfectly sums up how shadow work felt for me. It was so hard to let go of lies I was told about myself, because they’d become my truth and identity… so even when I had the revelation that it was not who I was, and it was holding me back from becoming me, I couldn’t let go because I didn’t know who I would be if not those things. I was afraid I’d be nothing at all. Then, when I finally loosened my grip, what a release it was. I always feel your words in my heart, as if they could be about me—but you have such a distinctive way of expressing yourself that your poetry could only come from you. That is what makes it enjoyable to read.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.