Poets logo

Distractions from Source

Festering weight of things you cannot control..

By Grz ColmPublished 11 months ago 1 min read
48
Distractions from Source
Photo by Lubo Minar on Unsplash

Disquieting thoughts, impede any rational thinking,

In a damp, dark space of one’s own making,

Solitudinous sounds internally reverberate taking,

The Beautiful manifestations of now forgotten memories -

Reaching into the known (how to make sense of these damn senses?)

Articulate what you want, not what you don’t, or else source

Causes you to attract more of the same gloom,

Thinking back, he’d always thought outside the box -

In the later years, he spent more time in its dank innards,

Overcome with festering weight of things you just cannot control,

Nestled mind-deep, preventing the breadth of wonder & insane joy -

*Thanks for reading my free verse poem about depression, disconnect/distraction from ‘source’ & the importance of how the universe seems to energetically respond to what you want, not what you don’t. It’s a little reverse psychology trick that I’m still slowly learning. Written for the “Dancing with Distraction” challenge 2023.

If you liked it, please consider hitting the heart or subscribing for more to encourage my future poems, short stories and film reviews. Many thanks.

You can also check out another of my recent free verse pieces here entitled “Panic” for the “Sensational” challenge, 2023:

performance poetry
48

About the Creator

Grz Colm

Film and TV reviews, 🎞 as well as short stories and free verse poems.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

Add your insights

Comments (39)

Sign in to comment
  • DEUXQANE5 months ago

    What I really appreciate about your work is that you give an explanation at the end. I'm someone who's very fond of poetry that I can understand thoroughly--even better if it makes me feel something--and for you to help me, a reader and therapist, know that this is about depression, helps me feel the impact that much more when I re-read it. And as a therapist; I still do trust in a Universe--because keeping an eye out and making clear to the Universe what we want, peels our eyes open for paths that eventually lead to it.

  • Jollyoddbod Poetry5 months ago

    This piece was the perfect balance of grounded and expansive. Nice work!

  • C. Rommial Butler6 months ago

    This was very well written, and I enjoyed it immensely! I suspect it's not that the mind attracts or repels, but rather that it arranges what we perceive to suit our inner emotional state unless we gradually force it, through effort of will, to perceive what is really there, and deal with it in right relation to ourselves. The spiritual layman might best understand this by reference to the line from the Rolling Stones song: you can't always get what you want, but if you try sometimes, you just might find, you get what you need. Again, well-wrought!

  • Passionately introspective and yet inspiring. Beautifully done!!!

  • Tressa Rose7 months ago

    This was really awesome to read. Definitely relate! Good job!

  • KJ Aartila8 months ago

    Gorgeous work! It just flows! And I don't know how I've not been subscribed to you - I read your work all the time! But I am now. 😊

  • E.K. Daniels9 months ago

    I loved this…. a wonderfully descriptive call to for intention, and how the mind can be so easily swayed by its ‘monkey’ nature. It’s rare I read something metaphysical here-I’m glad I found you. I find these themes crop up in my writing a lot, and always enjoy finding other perspectives, too.

  • Jazzy 9 months ago

    I'm a huge fan of manifesting what I want. I do believe the universe wants to give us what we want! Great poem!

  • Brilliant! The universe definitely does respond to what we ask… which is a hard pill to swallow for anyone born from severe trauma… but somehow, someway, if we keep reaching for love and for better, we can escape ✨

  • L.C. Schäfer9 months ago

    Thank you for sharing this. I think it's less that the universe responds to wants (rather than "don't want") and more that your focus shapes your reality 😁

  • Kristen Balyeat9 months ago

    Amazing, Grz! Don’t know how I missed this one! Such a powerful piece and totally loved this perspective!!! Beautifully executed! 💫💞

  • Naomi Gold9 months ago

    What a unique perspective for the Distractions challenge! This is the only one I saw that addresses the power of the mind over matter. Nicely done. 👏🏼

  • Novel Allen10 months ago

    This poem is really great. Just had to read it again. It may seem down, but it actually lifts the spirit in its own weird way. Forward into the fray we go.

  • Pauline Fountain10 months ago

    My insights are still glitching but I would have checked every one. In reading (now 3 times read and one read aloud to a fried) - this I how feel. ‘Welcome to my mind!’ What an extraordinary talent you have, as demonstrated by this entry into the Dancing with Distraction Challenge. The best entry I have read so far. You deserve a win. Thank you for writing. Pauline 🌸

  • This is one you can find so many meanings in. Very well done

  • Racharoonie11 months ago

    Oof this one has all the feels. You’ve got such talent!

  • Cathy holmes11 months ago

    Great entry. Very well done.

  • Great Job On This Entry Piece ❤️📝😉🎯❗❗

  • J. S. Wade11 months ago

    Profound truth Grz! You touch on the heart of all distraction. Excellent poem 🥰

  • Mariann Carroll11 months ago

    Excellent work 👏👏👏👏

  • This is fantastic, Grz! This one packs a real gut punch of emotion! So very well done, my friend!

  • Heather Hubler11 months ago

    Oh there was so much to unpack in this one...I loved the afterword you included. Still thinking about this a day after I read it. Wonderful work and of course your use of 'innards' is top notch (haha).

  • Harmony Kent11 months ago

    Raw, honest, and powerful. This resonated with me so much. Well done, Grz 🙂

  • Real Poetic11 months ago

    I felt so many emotions while reading this. Wonderfully written.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.