Poets logo

Time I Had Some Time Alone

and I feel fine

By Christy MunsonPublished 19 days ago Updated 19 days ago 1 min read
Time I Had Some Time Alone
Photo by Michael Paredes on Unsplash

Anyone else would have sidestepped the trap

You want to argue til I come undone

I tried to tell you, the whole world is flat

Like it or not, we revolve round the sun

.

Everyone's laughing til everyone cries

You don't understand the hate that you bring

You're breaking my heart with all of your lies

No one can tell you - you know everything

.

This one dimension is all that there is

No one can tell you the world is on fire

Can't be all that deep - the Earth is a disc

"Alternative facts?" - a deadly quagmire

.

I don't have time to consider your proof

Father forgive. They know not what they do.

_______

Copyright © 06/07/2024 by Christy Munson. All rights reserved.

Author's Note: This sonnet is written for Vocal's Dialogue Poetry Challenge.

Sonnet

About the Creator

Christy Munson

My words expose what I find real and worth exploring.

Top Stories: 🥳

JUN | MAY | MAY | MAY | MAY

APR | APR | MAR | MAR | MAR

FEB | JUN

Unofficial Challenge Winners:

Ask Me in December | Story of Humanity | Strangely Art

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (11)

  • Gabriela Trofin-Tatár2 days ago

    This was a fresh perspective on the dialogue poetry and I really liked your wordplays!

  • Caroline Jane3 days ago

    Like Anna said, that last line is inspired. I love how it flips the righteousness in the poems undercurrent and compliments the science voice with faith to tell a message all of its own. Great idea.

  • Anna 17 days ago

    Wow! I love that you made the last line into a Bible quote. It is perfect that way. <3

  • John Cox18 days ago

    This is an excellent reminder of the state of political dialogue in our nation. You are more forgiving than I, Christy. Excellent entry to the challenge.

  • Ameer Bibi18 days ago

    Very well written Best of luck 👍

  • L.C. Schäfer18 days ago

    This is great, best of luck in the challenge 😁

  • JBaz19 days ago

    There is something charminmg about this one. I felt like I was being scolded yet enjoyed being reprimanded.

  • Babs Iverson19 days ago

    Superbly written!!! Loved it!!!💕❤️❤️

  • Kendall Defoe 19 days ago

    R.E.M. would have approved!

  • These lines felt very lyrical and I sang it to my own tune! Loved your poem!

  • It refreshes our minds!!!

Christy MunsonWritten by Christy Munson

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.