Poets logo

Ants

Go Marching In

By Christy MunsonPublished 21 days ago 1 min read
Ants
Photo by Jordan Whitt on Unsplash

they turn my world

upside down

but I love

watching ants

go marching in

hard shelled saints

scurrying

as April's rain clouds

begin to pound

big wet drops

like basketballs dunking

splattering fates

scattering wee ones

so far below

.

I remember

admiring

their fine parade

marching in

with somewhere to be

always

wanting to be one of that number

but they followed a different path

their heading

bearing somewhere

I never could follow...

they'd dance away

slipping from view

slipping in through cracks and crevices

vanishing into stone

and to this day

I cave at the thought

_______

Copyright © 06/05/2024 by Christy Munson. All rights reserved.

Stream of Consciousnessnature poetryFree VerseFor Fun

About the Creator

Christy Munson

My words expose what I find real and worth exploring.

Top Stories: 🥳

JUN | MAY | MAY | MAY | MAY

APR | APR | MAR | MAR | MAR

FEB | JUN

Unofficial Challenge Winners:

Ask Me in December | Story of Humanity | Strangely Art

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Add your insights

Comments (13)

  • Rasma Raisters17 days ago

    Nicely penned I could imagine them, Perhaps I need to recite this poem next time see a an ant parade going by on the side of my sink,

  • Cathy holmes19 days ago

    They always seem to.be going somewhere, don't they? Wonderful poem.

  • Babs Iverson19 days ago

    Fun and entertaining!!! Love this!!!❤️❤️💕

  • Lovely… I can enjoy this ant anthem, because they’re currently absent from my kitchen (winter time here).😳 I also have fond memories of the ‘Ants go marching… hoorah” song😃.

  • Christy, this is fun and gleefully poetic, and I don't care how much work I have, I stop and read you! I agree with John Cox, I caught the Saints Go Marching In resemblance also, but that is not what we call ants that are currently asking for a smackdown in my kitchen sink.

  • Not a fan of ants lol but loved this poem

  • I always see ants gathered around nothing and they would all be so still. It would seem like they're in some sorta meeting or ritual, lol. Loved your poem!

  • Anna 21 days ago

    Wow, I just love it, although I was always paranoid from ants🥲

  • nice

  • angela hepworth21 days ago

    You turned something small and seemingly insignificant into a powerfully captivating, nostalgic memory. Awesome work as always!

  • Ha ha what a fantastic poem😄 . Reflection of the childhood .

  • John Cox21 days ago

    Did this borrow little bits from the saints go marching in? Clever and fun! Loved the pic!

  • D.K. Shepard21 days ago

    Your captivation with such a scene came through crystal clear! Love the allusion elements to the song

Christy MunsonWritten by Christy Munson

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.