Poets logo

The Day We Met

For my love, Emily

By Amanda OlejniczakPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
1
The day I met the love of my life: November 16, 2019

Emily

I’ve never been so terrified

Waiting for a crash to come

I was used to people leaving me

The Anorexia made sure that just about everyone did

But this is so different

She is so different

I’m getting better, and god do I want to be full again

“How is this even possible?” I think

We’ve been talking for only a month

It’s incredible how happy she makes me

Only through texts, and now finally the day has come where we get to meet

Finally, I get to see her in the flesh

I make my parents drive me to another city

It’s 5:58 pm: “On my way up”

Her goofy walk/run down the hallway of her Bowling Green apartment

Her dog, Sadie, happily trailing behind her

Arms stretched out reaching for me

I fear it’s not really her

How can someone so beautiful be so happy to see just me?

We lock eyes

I love her

I feel ill at the thought of losing her

I’m attached already yet this will be one of the healthiest relationships I’ll ever be in

It also feels like the most dangerous

Because there’s so much at stake

She knows me so well already

It’s easy to share behind a phone screen

So I don’t hold back

I’m in awe of her bright blue eyes and melodic voice

As she gets closer to me “Hi!” She somehow exclaimed softly

Embraced

I never want to let go

We hold each other as if we’ve known each other a lifetime

I know she is in my life now

She is definitely meant to be

I just hope she is meant to stay

Forever

January 29, 2022

love poems
1

About the Creator

Amanda Olejniczak

I am a writer, poet, and proud advocate for mental health. Addtional content I create can be found on Instagram: @amanda_unfiltered or @amanda_unfiltered_poetry.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.