Poets logo

Let's Start A War

Poppy's Prompts #5

By Kelli Sheckler-AmsdenPublished 21 days ago 1 min read
5
Let's Start A War
Photo by Salah Eddine Haddad on Unsplash

*

My mind erodes like the paint

Faded out by the sun

Showing no restraint

When I descend in emotions

I push hard the envelope

With the change of the wind

I've lost all shred of hope

Still, I stand up again

My heart is the fire

I need to get my guard up

Ride it down to the wire

Got to prove that I'm tough

Hanging on to what's next

Letting go of what was

Get it all off my chest

Knockin' down the facades

Gonna start me a war

Wind it up and lets go

That's what we're here for

Stick around for the show

slam poetryMental Healthlove poemsinspirationalheartbreak
5

About the Creator

Kelli Sheckler-Amsden

Telling stories my heart needs to tell <3 life is a journey, not a competition

If you like what you read, feel free to leave a tip, I would love some feedback

Find me on twitter @kelli7958958

or facebook

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Shirley Belk18 days ago

    you go girl!

  • Poppy 20 days ago

    I love the energy in this! As Dharrsheena said, it's so empowering!!

  • Oooo, this was so empowering! Well done!

  • Heather Hubler21 days ago

    'Gonna start me a war' just had me going! This was awesome, Kelli!!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.