Poets logo

The Black of me

Inversely Awakened in Black History Month of February

By Novel AllenPublished 5 months ago 1 min read

Does my blackness offend thee

Do you see me being audacious by my insistence

Always representing myself in portraits of ebony

MY BLACKNESS SELF

I see you ignoring my illustrations of me

While uplifting colors portrayed, depicted by them

those, though not Black, trying to simulate being me

My lips may tremble in righteous flames of indignation

The more we insist to be seen as same

The more you throw our past back into our faces

Tears no longer will bathe our cheeks

Pride, strength, fire and fierceness now will shine

Our lips now shall tremble with emotions

Creeping like lava from a volcano

Long asleep, now awakening, rumbling

From deep, deep below our surface of Blackness

Move out of my way

I am ready to erupt

Into Blackness personified

BEAUTIFUL BLACK ME shall ever shine

Don't be offended by my audacity!!!

NightCafe creations

................................................................................................

slam poetryOdeBallad

About the Creator

Novel Allen

Clouds come floating into my life, no longer to carry rain or usher storm, but to add color to my sunset sky. ~~ Rabindranath Tagore~~

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (31)

  • T Rain AKA Edger Ai Bingtona day ago

    Next level narrative! You be you

  • John Cox17 days ago

    Powerful inverse, Novel! Your wonderful opening portrait nicely complements your theme!

  • The Dani Writer28 days ago

    Hoooo!!! That "Fire Next Time" predicted...burning! Love the heart and soul in this and that lead photo is ALL!

  • Joe O’Connor29 days ago

    Stirring words Novel, and those first few lines remind me “Still I Rise”. I like how the tempo picks up in the latter half on first reading, and how the meaning of these lines changes on the inverse-“ The more we insist to be seen as same The more you throw our past back into our faces”. Powerful stuff 👏

  • Luksi Bayouabout a month ago

    This is powerful and beautiful writing, Novel Allen! Thank you for sharing this with all of us. "Tears no longer will bathe our cheeks Pride, strength, fire and fierceness now will shine" You are speaking the truth. The ancestors are proud.

  • Lily Séjorabout a month ago

    I keep raising to myself quite a few of these points. It is indeed time for some audacity! 💛

  • Pamela Walsh-Holte2 months ago

    Move out of my way, I am ready to erupt, Into Blackness personified Powerful and moving! I love this!

  • Rhazan's Pen2 months ago

    Love the audacity! very powerful indeed!

  • Lamar Wiggins3 months ago

    That was pretty powerful, both ways! The inverse was such a tough challenge. You pulled it off seamlessly.

  • Pauline Fountain3 months ago

    ‘Tears no longer will bathe our cheeks Pride, strength, fire and fierceness now will shine’ An emotive, powerful poem. Plus stunning illustrations Pauline 🌸

  • Lacy Loar-Gruenler4 months ago

    Novel, the emotion comes clearly through, and it's powerful and beautifully done. That you are creative enough to make this an inverse poem is astounding and quite brilliant. I still haven't mastered that; my brain only works in one direction.

  • Alexis Wellmaker4 months ago

    ❤️Beautiful!!

  • Not at all. I deeply & dearly appreciate your blackness, Novel, & would wish you no other way.

  • Real Poetic5 months ago

    “Don’t be offended by my audacity!” Yessss I love this!

  • Shirley Belk5 months ago

    "BEAUTIFUL BLACK ME shall ever shine" Keep on shining, sweet Novel!!

  • Babs Iverson5 months ago

    Brilliant & loved it!!!💕♥️♥️

  • Catherine Nyomenda5 months ago

    Ooh Allen! This poem reminded me 'Black does not crack'. Bravo!

  • This was so profound and extreme powerful! I freaking loved your poem!

  • Tiffany Gordon 5 months ago

    Right on Novie! ✊🏾

  • Mariann Carroll5 months ago

    Say it proud and loud, Sister !!!❤️

  • ✍️ "Pride, strength, fire and fierceness now will shine"... Dearest Novel: I may ask to borrow this line and use it as foreword. I admire this poem and the illustration. I see you were away. How are you?! As for me, I remain forever occupied with family and work, though allergy issues are strong competition. Keep being wonderful! 💙👏💙

  • J5 months ago

    Even the word audacity has been twisted into something meant to represent the disrespectful and insolent, when the root of the word is simply 'bold'. When a culture is considered brave to simply exist at all, yet vilified for their courage, you have to wonder how the people rewriting the dictionary (read:history) truly feel about themselves. Keep the lava flowing. Show them something to really be afraid of, instead of their own ghosts.

  • Bozhan Bozhkov5 months ago

    PP I see, the poem is very deep, concerning not only skin color problems, but this part awakened my anger against the senseless stereotypes we are still enslaved to.

  • Kendall Defoe 5 months ago

    Need this on repeat. ❤️

Novel AllenWritten by Novel Allen

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.