Poets logo

The Alien in My Knee

A Rhyming Poem

By Cathy holmesPublished 8 months ago Updated 8 months ago 3 min read
Top Story - September 2023
62
Created on Dall-E

I met a tiny alien who crashed into my knee.

He set up camp inside the joint, away from gravity.

He needed time to mend his damaged vessel and broken bones,

before embarking on the journey to safely bring him home.

*

I had no clue what happened; just know I felt the pains,

of crash and bang inside my knee with nuts and bolts and chains.

“What the heck is going on,” I wondered in my mind.

“Forgive me, I am truly sorry,” came a voice so meek and kind.

*

“I swear I mean no harm to you. For your pain, I apologize.

But I must mend and fix my ship before taking to the skies.

Please bear with me a little longer. I’ll be gentle as I can.

I’ll leave you then, in peace and calm when I complete my plan.”

*

I felt that I could trust him. His voice was soft and true.

It seemed also that he was scared and perhaps a little blue.

I thought that I should help him to try and fill his needs,

but how does one assist an alien living in their knee?

*

He thanked me for the offer, on me he could depend.

He assured me there was nothing to do but wait for his wounds to mend.

He asked if I could tell him about our planet, so small and blue.

I told about our lovely world - at least as much as I knew.

*

I took him to the library in the centre of our town.

He began to absorb an abundance of knowledge by simply looking around.

He learned of our geology, of crusts and mantles and plates.

He was amazed by our botany - our trees and flowers and dates.

*

His fascination with animal life brought a joyous smile to me.

When I showed him deer and wolves and otters I could feel his honest glee.

He learned about humanity; how we’re different but all the same.

Then something in his soul did hurt, I could feel his sadness and pain.

*

He asked me why we humans seem obsessed with hatred and war.

I had no answer I could give, as I felt his heart grow sore.

He didn’t understand it. If we say we’re all the same,

why is it that our selfishness causes so much pain?

*

Again, I had no answer, no words that I could say,

to soothe his ache and make him understand our world today.

I assured him that not all of us feel hatred for the others,

that most indeed feel empathy and love for one another.

*

He asked what I’d do about it. I wasn’t sure what he meant,

for I am just one single person regardless of intent.

He said it didn’t matter that I was only one,

for all it takes to start the day is a single rising sun.

*

A wave can move a mountain, a moon can light the sky.

A heartbeat stirs a million cells, and a breeze helps birds to fly.

He told me that he knew I had a heart that’s filled with love,

And that was why he chose me when his ship crashed from above.

*

I couldn’t help but giggle and remind him of the pain.

“Ah but,” he said, “I know it hurts, but you have not complained.”

“I crashed my ship into your knee and much hurt you received,

but not once in these weeks that have passed have you asked me to leave.”

*

“I know it was a struggle and some days you did suffer,

but you were willing to take it on for the benefit of another.

Before I leave, I want you to know there’s something you can do.

The only effort required on your part is to keep on being you.”

*

“If, as you say, humanity does care for one another,

then let the feeling spread like rivers to suffocate the other.

Kindness is your strongest weapon and also best defense.

To use it as your greatest power is only common sense.”

*

“Opinions may be different, lifestyles so diverse.

Accept each other for who you are. In differences immerse.

I know that you can do it. I can see it in your eyes.

For you have shown me only kindness since the day that I arrived.”

*

Wise words received and welcomed here from the alien in my knee.

As he started his ship for the journey home, a tear did come to me.

I knew that I would miss him, for he had become my friend.

Although I wouldn’t miss the pain, I was sad for our journey to end.

***********

This started out as a humorous poem about me recovering from knee surgery, and turned into something more. Hope you all all enjoy it. It's my first piece in nearly a month.

performance poetrysocial commentaryinspirationalhumor
62

About the Creator

Cathy holmes

Canadian family girl with a recently discovered love for writing. Other loves include animals and sports.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

Add your insights

Comments (55)

Sign in to comment
  • Lynn Jordan7 months ago

    WOW, this was so cool! I love everything about it. Congrats on Top Story, well deserved!

  • Amelia Moore7 months ago

    lovely piece!!

  • Denise E Lindquist7 months ago

    Fun poem. So much more fun than the recoup process. My hubby has had both knees anew.😊💕

  • Mackenzie Davis8 months ago

    Oh my word, this is truly a work of art, Cathy. Of the many many lines I loved, I'll quote this one as I was struck by the line "In differences immerse." What a beautiful turn of phrase. "Opinions may be different, lifestyles so diverse. Accept each other for who you are. In differences immerse. I know that you can do it. I can see it in your eyes. For you have shown me only kindness since the day that I arrived.” This might just be the most wholesome poem I've ever read. It really did touch my heart! I feel there is more I ought to say, but I'll leave it there. Congratulations on Top Story and for 3rd place on the leaderboard!

  • This comment has been deleted

  • Teresa Renton8 months ago

    Outstanding Cathy! This is worth more than all the wellbeing webinars/podcasts out there ❤️. Well done for TS and hope your poorly knee feels better xx

  • Paul Stewart8 months ago

    Ouch at the surgery, to your damaged knee. Rhyming there! Well done though, this is so so good and I'm sorry I didn't read it sooner. Love the sentiment and see parrallels with my most recent entry actually ;) Congrats on Top Story. Hope recovery is going well enough, buddy!

  • Aw this was so sweet and I've had knee surgery! OUCH 😣 it was a soccer injury . Very good and the flow was excellent 👍😊👏 congratulations 🎉

  • Novel Allen8 months ago

    Oh geez, knee surgery. It can be so painful. I hope that you are doing better now Cathy. I can see where the alien kept you company while you recuperate could inspire such a great poem. It was funny, informative and yet a bit of therapy was thrown in. Be well, blessings.

  • Rebecca Morton8 months ago

    This could be turned into a novel! I never thought of an alien that tiny, and I loved that you used your real-life pain to inspire such a hopeful idea of a helpful little alien travelling around in your knee! Congrats on Top Story!

  • Heather Hubler8 months ago

    Goodness you have such a gift of taking any subject and making something so heartfelt and substantial. I teared up a little by the end, missing the alien that had become a friend. Funny, touching and beautifully stated. Bravo, Nitty :) Congrats on a much deserved story, my Queen.

  • Dyllon Rodillon8 months ago

    Congrats on the TS! Also love all the hearts, great engagement

  • Gina C.8 months ago

    Yes! Congrats on Top Story! 🤗❤️

  • Sarah Massey8 months ago

    If this doesn't win the Extraterrestrial topic I'll riot. So incredibly well done. It has children's book vibes, and I love it. The rhythm was exceptional, and narrative intriguing all the way through. Made my day reading it. Thank you for sharing this piece.

  • Dana Crandell8 months ago

    This is really profound, Cathy. A winner in my opinion.

  • Test8 months ago

    Really touching, Cathy. I can see it did evolve as you were writing into something very profound. Well-deserved TS!! 💙Anneliese

  • Rachel Deeming8 months ago

    Quirky but with such a positive message. Congrats on TS!

  • Congratulations on your Top Story🎉👽✌️❤️

  • Veronica Coldiron8 months ago

    WELL deserving of a top story! Congratulations on an AWESOME poem!

  • Lamar Wiggins8 months ago

    👏👏👏 Bravo my friend! Amazing poem! I sometimes like when you get something greater than what it was intended to be. I'm so glad you went with it. Such an important message. Wishing you a speedy recovery and congrats on your top story! 💖

  • JBaz8 months ago

    Big time congratulations

  • Margaret Brennan8 months ago

    Wow, what a wonderful way to think of a knee replacement. I wish I might have had a little alien. My knee replacement was three years ago and it still gives me grief. At least with an alien, I would have had someone to share all this with. GREAT poem.

  • Earl W. Pearl8 months ago

    Congrats, Cathy. I like the rhythm and the imagination. Well done.

  • Darkos8 months ago

    Congratulations 😀!Beautiful imaginary creative full of love poem 💓

  • Alex H Mittelman 8 months ago

    Wonderful poem!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.