Poets logo

Someday is Today

Listen Up

By Cathy holmesPublished about a year ago 1 min read
29
Photo by Aditya Saxena on Unsplash

Somedays it’s impossible to laugh.

Somedays it’s a struggle to smile.

Somedays I just want to scream,

Leave me the fuck alone for a while.

Somedays I just want to hide.

Somedays I just want to run.

Somedays I feel that my world,

Is coming completely undone.

*

Someday I will pull myself together.

Someday I will show the whole world,

That I won’t run away from your bullshit,

So you better not mess with this girl.

Someday I will stand strong and fight back,

A day that’s been coming for a while.

Then you’ll be the one who’s left screaming,

As I walk away with a smile.

*

Today is that day.

performance poetryinspirationalfact or fiction
29

About the Creator

Cathy holmes

Canadian family girl with a recently discovered love for writing. Other loves include animals and sports.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  4. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  5. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

Add your insights

Comments (26)

Sign in to comment
  • Roy Stevens12 months ago

    Thanks for the heads up!

  • C. H. Richardabout a year ago

    Yes seize the day! Someday is now!❤️

  • Holly Pheniabout a year ago

    Gorgeous and so genuine. Love this.

  • Dylan about a year ago

    Amazing!

  • Linda Rivenbarkabout a year ago

    Way to go, Cathy. This poem is nothing short of inspirational!

  • Leslie Writesabout a year ago

    Love this one. Kick ass!

  • Kelli Sheckler-Amsdenabout a year ago

    my new anthem!! Great job

  • Queen of Forgiveness™about a year ago

    I'm with Phil. Very strong. Please don't hurt 'em, girl! 😜

  • Phil Flanneryabout a year ago

    Strong

  • Ah, I so needed this today! Loved this poem so much!

  • Caroline Cravenabout a year ago

    I love this one! Great stuff!

  • Gina C.about a year ago

    Amen. I've been feeling both ways today. Well said and well done 🥹❤️

  • Dana Stewartabout a year ago

    Someday! How did you know I needed this? GREAT poem.

  • Oneg In The Arcticabout a year ago

    Heck ya!

  • Amen, sister!

  • Great Job ❤️‼️

  • Naomi Goldabout a year ago

    Fuck yeah! I’m still not there yet, and being challenged to stand up for myself. I hope someday is my day too.

  • Lamar Wigginsabout a year ago

    Bravo! Sometimes you just have to do it...today! Great read!

  • Dana Crandellabout a year ago

    Da-yamn! ❤

  • Heather Hublerabout a year ago

    Oh wow, you have to know that I freaking love this!! Yes, today is that day. I got your back, queen nitty :) Loved this so much!!

  • Mariann Carrollabout a year ago

    Very inspirational 🥰

  • J. S. Wadeabout a year ago

    Heard that! Powerful emotions! I will send bail money if needed. 🥰

  • JBazabout a year ago

    Someday is today....Great message

  • Denise E Lindquistabout a year ago

    Wow! I felt that way once! Thank you❤️

  • Babs Iversonabout a year ago

    Woohoo!!! "Today is that day." Loving it!!!💖💕

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.