Poets logo

Dandelion Dreams

I am a Dandelion. I am not a weed!

By Laura DePacePublished 12 days ago 1 min read
2
Dandelion photo by author

Dandelion Dreams

By Laura Brady DePace

I am a Dandelion.

I stand tall,

Brilliant yellow,

Like a tiny sun

Anchored to the Earth.

I am not a weed!

I am a beautiful flower!

So much depends upon me.

I feed the bees when they awaken

Hungry

In the Spring.

I nurture many small creatures:

Honey bees

Bumblebees

Ants

Tiny crawling bugs.

And the spiders that feast on them

In their turn.

I stretch my flower high

On my slender stem.

I reach my roots deep

Into the warm Earth.

I spread my leaves wide

Upon the cool grass.

Time passes

And my yellow petals

Curl inward,

Hugging themselves,

Tightly closed.

Cradling the seeds growing

Within.

Time passes.

Finally, I stretch again,

Changing from yellow

To white

To a beautiful, perfect ball

Of crystalline seed-carrying parasols.

Dandelion fluff

Shining in the sun.

Tiny parachutes

Lift my seeds high

To rise in the air

And travel on the wind

Floating

To distant landings,

Far-off places,

Where new dandelions

Can begin

Can grow tall.

Yellow suns

Anchored to the Earth.

And some -

The lucky ones -

Will become “Wish Flowers”

In the hands

Of a child.

Launched by a child’s hopeful breath,

The heart of their innocent belief,

Carrying their wishes

And hopes

And dreams.

Into the heavens.

I am a Dandelion.

nature poetryFree Verse
2

About the Creator

Laura DePace

Beaches and mountains, quiet forests and sleepy gardens, stormy nights and sunny days, full moons and starry skies, sunrises and sunsets. Joy, sorrow, love, and life. These call to me, and I wish to tell their stories.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Andrea Corwin 12 days ago

    People make wine too…

  • Andrea Corwin 12 days ago

    Laura, this is an absolutely exquisite nature poem! You covered all the creatures and the stages. I loved it!!😍💕💕

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.