Poets logo

Paper hearts

in my pocket

By Heather HublerPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 1 min read
Created with CanvaPro

Dear younger, brazen self,

-

I wonder what you'd think of me,

the current me, the hot mess charading as

the grown up version,

whatever that even means.

I'm secretly not sure how to tell if I've

'matured'.

Does that mean I only think in responsibilities and

calendars and laundry soap?

-

I wonder if you'd be disappointed,

think I was a sell-out for not fulfilling all our

dreamy notions of independence

and bucking the system.

Would you think I was lame for having a

mortgage, settling down, worrying

about taxes and car payments?

-

I wonder if you wouldn't be a little proud though

of the amazing and crazy children I'm raising.

They use sarcasm in abundance and

talk their way out of almost anything,

entirely too clever for their own good.

You couldn't envision having kids,

but they hold our heart now.

-

I wear rose-colored glasses when I think of you,

only seeing the endearing parts,

the wild, the crazy, the fun-loving side.

And that's okay, I think.

Poor decisions were made and

words spoken that never should have left your mouth.

and maybe I resent you a bit for those.

We have that in common.

Yet I'm still filled with gratitude

that as you stumbled and learned and grew,

you led us here to our today.

-

I will always carry pieces of you with me,

little paper hearts inside my pocket,

full of memories.

And I hope you'd agree that

I'm the very best version of us.

-

Sincerely,

Older, less brazen me

love poemsinspirational

About the Creator

Heather Hubler

Reading/writing/science/family=life

Visit

fb * X * insta

OMG creators

Mike Dharr Cathy DanaS Babs Brin

Gina Tiff Grz KJ Thavien CH Kelli

Veronica BrentonF Paul Dean Holly Lamar

Caroline Melissa JS Donna Moe

Gerald DanaC JBaz Kristen Randy

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  4. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

Add your insights

Comments (29)

  • L.C. Schäferabout a year ago

    Really relatable. One day you're young and fun and dying in a field of too much vodka then you wake up and you're the type of person who gets really excited about a very good quality cheese grater. Then you die 😁

  • Novel Allenabout a year ago

    Wonderful and nostalgic words. Really lovely poem.

  • Mariann Carrollabout a year ago

    This is so beautiful 😍

  • Aww, This is Awesome ✨ ❤️😉📝👣

  • Dana Stewartabout a year ago

    Such a great slant on this challenge - reconciling what you are from what you thought you'd be - both versions are incredibly talented. Well done.

  • Paul Stewartabout a year ago

    Well done on this piece! great approach to the challenge. I have a similar idea actually (speaking to my younger self). I love how kind you are to your younger self! Mine, at the moment, is less kind lol, but we shall see! Anyway, well done!

  • The Invisible Writerabout a year ago

    Such a brilliant take on this challenge. My kids have sarcasm in abundance as well 🙃

  • C. H. Richardabout a year ago

    So relatable. I tend to look with rose colored glasses at my younger self too. Forgetting about the stuff you have to go through to get to adulting ❤️ Love it ❤️

  • Leslie Writesabout a year ago

    Oh boy. I relate to this so much. Excellent poem <3

  • To be able to bless the inner child that still lies within you & not condemn her for every folly or misstep but rather thank her for bringing forth who you are today. 'Tis grace that coaxes the smile to come forth as eyes well with tears filled with gratitude, joy & love.

  • Awww, this was so so sweet! I'm sure your younger self would be so proud of you now!

  • Donna Reneeabout a year ago

    This is beautiful! ❤️❤️I love how gentle you are with your younger self… and I bet she would be impressed with how things turned out for her 🥰

  • Diani Alvarengaabout a year ago

    This was so touching Heather! ❤️

  • Brin J.about a year ago

    I often look at my younger self and wonder about these things too. Everything she hoped I'd aspire to seems so foggy. Or maybe I blurred those memories because I didn't amount to who she wanted to be... Sad. I love this Heather <3. You always get me to reflect in the most beautiful ways.

  • Testabout a year ago

    Fantastic and so relatable! Incredible, Heather 💕🙂

  • Gerald Holmesabout a year ago

    This is beautiful and touching. I was thinking about what I would say to my younger self as I read it.

  • Babs Iversonabout a year ago

    Super, superb, splendid!!! Loving paper hearts!!!!

  • Dean F. Hardyabout a year ago

    You've published a lot on here and yes, I haven't read them all, however this is my favourite of your works. So honest. It's like you've spoken to that younger self so often throughout your adult years. Sentences so gently and effortlessly placed. This will be a theme that's used by a number of creators and understandably so. But none of them will be better then this one.

  • Jay Kantorabout a year ago

    Dear Heather ~ I often write - 'For The Kids Someday' - You may want to 'Archive' this for yours someday. Jay Kantor, Chatsworth, Cal 'Senior' Vocal Author

  • Stephanie J. Bradberryabout a year ago

    This is for sure a letter that many of us would write to ourselves. But you capture so much of what real life versus kid dreams are like in a poetic, heartfelt way.

  • Moe Radosevichabout a year ago

    soul touching H2, that’s all I need to comment ❤️

  • Lamar Wigginsabout a year ago

    Excellent person to write a letter to. "And I hope you'd agree, I'm the very best version of us" She would be so proud of you. I'm sure she is... Great Work!

  • Kelli Sheckler-Amsdenabout a year ago

    Another beautiful piece. The transparency is illuminating

  • Brenton Fabout a year ago

    Bravo! I love how you made it so openly personal!

Heather HublerWritten by Heather Hubler

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.