Poets logo

Ruby and Me

A poetic conversation between my mother and me for her birthday

By Joe PattersonPublished 2 days ago Updated 2 days ago 1 min read

Hello Ruby Lee.

Hello Monkeyfeet, Bookie B.

Come on ma don’t call me that.

Either I call you that or call you fat.

But I ain’t big.

Bigger than you used to be.

You’re just not used to me.

I’ll always remember the old you.

See I’m all grown up now, I told you.

Maybe. But no matter how much you grow up you’ll always be my baby.

Here you go with that lovey dovey mess.

Oh yes, you are my baby boy and when I had you I was blessed.

I really wish you were still here.

Son even when I’m not there in flesh my spirit is still near.

I miss you mom. I miss how you always gave me love.

Baby boy I’m still giving you my love from above.

Dear mama you mean more to me than you could ever understand.

Dear son, I’m proud of you for growing up to be an amazing man.

Happy Heavenly birthday mom. You made my life better.

Thank you my son. I love you always and forever.

~Happy Heavenly birthday to my mother Ruby Lee Spencer.

Odelove poemsFamily

About the Creator

Joe Patterson

Hi I'm Joe Patterson. I am a writer at heart who is a big geek for film, music, and literature, which have all inspired me to be a writer. I rap, write stories both short and long, and I'm also aspiring to be an author and a filmmaker.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (6)

  • Vicki Lawana Trusselli a day ago

    Happy birthday to Ruby Lee. Your mom was beautiful .

  • So sweet! Happy Birthdaisy Miss Ruby!!

  • ROCK 2 days ago

    Heartfelt love, sweet love. You have a beautiful spirit like your mother.

  • Novel Allen2 days ago

    Hello Ruby Lee, it is so great to meet you. We have heard a lot about you from Joe. I know you watch over him and you are so proud of him. We too are lucky to call him friend. Keep smiling Joe, she is never far away. Happy birthday Ruby, enjoy your angel wings.

  • Your poem portrays a profound and tender relationship, thank you for sharing this heartfelt and poignant piece, love your works, hope to read more, subscribed.

  • I'm sorry for your loss. Your mom sounds like an awesome lady.

Joe PattersonWritten by Joe Patterson

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.