Poets logo

days be trippin'

no pause, no reset

By Heather HublerPublished about a year ago 1 min read
Created with CanvaPro

~

days be trippin'

tumbling one right after the other,

sprinting from east to west

like they can't be bothered

to stop and hang out.

say hi to the moon,

shoot the shit with the stars.

no, they're too good for that.

just cruise right on by,

all consecutive like,

never skipping a beat,

leaving me longing for the

ones before.

the ones I didn't get time to enjoy.

too many 'things' on my plate,

stealing my minutes,

monopolizing my hours.

and the clock having a good

one laughing with the days

as I scramble to hold onto them,

clutching and clawing,

begging for more.

but my drama only amuses,

my angst brushes right off,

nothing gives me the traction

I need to reel them in

and linger,

maybe skip back through a few

to revisit and savor.

no, on they march through the sky

never succumbing to my pleas.

days be trippin'

ever onward.

____________________________________________________

Feeling the weight of time passing so much more lately as my children get older. Wishing I could slow things down just a bit.

Thank you for stopping by and reading my work! Please consider subscribing to me if you haven't already (it's free).

Here are a more of my works if you'd care to keep on reading:

sad poetry

About the Creator

Heather Hubler

Reading/writing/science/family=life

Visit

fb * X * insta

OMG creators

Mike Dharr Cathy DanaS Babs Brin

Gina Tiff Grz KJ Thavien CH Kelli

Veronica BrentonF Paul Dean Holly Lamar

Caroline Melissa JS Donna Moe

Gerald DanaC JBaz Kristen Randy

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  4. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

Add your insights

Comments (22)

  • Paul Stewartabout a year ago

    An elegant and wonderfully poetic way to express something that any parent can relate to! I felt this in lockdown, to be honest, because days merged, but the last 20 years have often felt like a blur! Great stuff!

  • Kristen Balyeatabout a year ago

    This was so good, Heather! As a mom, I felt this to my core- but I think it's true for most people, with or without kiddos. Good reminder to stop and be more intentional- but even still... "days be trippin" Such a perfect way to put it. Great one!

  • Gina C.about a year ago

    Aw, you expressed this all beautifully, my friend. ❤️ I felt this deeply. Life just wants more and more out of us...time just wanders away. 🥲

  • Agreement 🫵❤️😉💯👍

  • Naomi Goldabout a year ago

    Motherhood in a nutshell. Great work!

  • Things pile up and we deal with them one way or another, this week has been difficult, but I am getting through it. Great words

  • Grz Colmabout a year ago

    We can never get it all done but I loved the feel of this Poem, which as someone else said captures the feeling of time nicely. 😊💫

  • Although I have no children, your words resonated so deeply with me. The thing about having a plate is that it is never gonna be empty. Things will always pile up on it. And we can never properly pause to enjoy the moment as it is. So I think the wise thing to do is to ditch the plate. No no, not ditch your children, just the plate. Yea, that's all I got so please don't ask me how. Was tryna be all deep and philosophical but I have no idea what I just barfed up here. Anyway, what I do know it that I enjoyed your poem and found it very relatable!

  • Mariann Carrollabout a year ago

    Very relatable

  • R. J. Raniabout a year ago

    The days are flying by, aren't they. I love how you've captured that sense of time fleeing and slipping through fingers, Heather. I found myself reaching out and trying to grab for it! You have such a mesmerisingly honest way with words 🤗

  • Kelli Sheckler-Amsdenabout a year ago

    uh huh, another great one

  • I hate to have to tell you this, Heather, but it doesn't get any better. At the age of 63 I already feel as though I'm behind on my Christmas shopping. That having been said, you captured the sense of it extremely well. (Like I thought you would do any less, lol.)

  • Emily Marie Concannonabout a year ago

    OMG Heather LOVED this one! :) :)

  • Sonia Heidi Unruhabout a year ago

    The tone in this poem is pitch perfect. Heather, I think one of your gifts is crafting poems that make us nod and say, So true! I hadn't thought of putting it that way before, but yes, that's exactly how it is!

  • Moe Radosevichabout a year ago

    Good piece of writing H2, all that’s left is time remaining, and it continues on, getting shorter every second, nice job ❤️

  • Babs Iversonabout a year ago

    Melancholy!!! Well expressed!!! Sending hugs!!!💖💖💕

  • Dana Crandellabout a year ago

    This is awesome, and so true.

  • Stephanie J. Bradberryabout a year ago

    I love how you make the days a living being. So much so that days are like frantic people caught in the rat race and don't have time for real interaction.

  • Thavien Yliasterabout a year ago

    Hehe, I just imagined the planet earth tripping and that's why it rotates so weird. It would explain our North is different from True North. Days be trippin'. Some days are trippin' so much that some sides of the planet are completely blanketed in darkness while others bask in the light not to their delight. Days be trippin', but time's not skippin', but it makes sense if originally at first our earth failed a practice and landed on its axis, cause Gaia be slippin'.

  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    That is sooooo true. Days need to stay off the coke! Great piece, my friend.

  • Dana Stewartabout a year ago

    The cadence of this is soooo good! Good reminder, my friend - So true, so true, days be trippin!

Heather HublerWritten by Heather Hubler

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.