Poets logo

Our Family Bed

A poem

By Oneg In The ArcticPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
6
Our Family Bed
Photo by Priscilla Du Preez on Unsplash

Our dog sheds nonstop.

Flurry of fluff floating through air particles

Part of the inhale

(Our clothes, our food)

But he always has place on our bed

-

Our cat is a demonic spawn of super energy in a slinky black hole body

His (non-existent) boundaries are free spirit

A constant contrast of cuddly and terrifying tornado

He sleeps between my wife and I

safely

-

My wife sleeps diagonally

Unable to drag herself out of nightmares independently

Sometimes I’m the lifeline from the traumas of her dreams

Yet I can’t fall asleep without her warm presence by me

(Diagonal or not)

-

I sleep talk, bilingually

Move too much, trying to manage anxiety through movement

(Drives my wife nuts)

I’m antsy in bed, active even in slumber

-

Our bed is home

Home to the fluff,

the hyper,

the dreams,

the movement.

It is where we have found comfort

Warmth in each other’s arms and paws

(My favourite place)

love poemsslam poetryperformance poetry
6

About the Creator

Oneg In The Arctic

A storyteller and poet of arctic adventures, good food, identity, mental health, and more.

Co-founder of Queer Vocal Voices

Some other rad writers to check out:

James ❄️ TheDaniWriter ❄️ Melissa

RiverJoy ❄️ J. Delaney-Howe ❄️

Water is Life ✊

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Cathy holmes2 years ago

    Love this. I giggled at "A constant contrast of cuddly and terrifying tornado."

  • awww....who doesn't want this?!

  • Babs Iverson2 years ago

    Loving it!!!💖💕

  • Heather Hubler2 years ago

    This is definitely comfort :) All the good with the not-so-good, blended together. Loved it!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.