Poets logo

Oubliette

an acrostic challenge entry

By Heather HublerPublished about a year ago 1 min read
Top Story - June 2023
Created with CanvaPro

Damage seeps through unseen fissures, fracturing thoughts while sinew starts to atrophy, stripped down to pale bleached bone–a snowy hiemal white. An unwelcome affirmation that

Insipid winter's come again to steal my fragile mind. A sleight of hand, a trick to bury me alive in snowdrifts never once suspecting, while

Solstice doldrums pick apart my scabs and stitches,

The ones that hold my rotting innards from spilling out, exposing all my dreams and lies and shameful secrets; how I yearn for summery salvation.

Respite. A bit of warmth to thaw my frozen heart, burn away the self doubt. Instead I lie supine, shivering as indigo eyes search starless skies from the cold, clay floor of my homemade oubliette,

Aching to glimpse Ursa Major at its zenith; all the while knowing there's a price, a sacrifice demanded for that estival luxury–the hunger of a

Capricorn moon starved of tenderness and warmth, needing sated,

Taking and stealing and draining me dry until the emptiness echoes throughout my crystallized soul. Time stretches until...

I become ravenous too. Hunger pains drag me from distracted slumber as dormant seeds take hold.

One small stalk of viridescent growth breaches soil not yet freed from frost, blissfully unaware of its doomed fate. An innocent sacrifice that drives the crippling numbness away; pins and

Needles bringing long-dead tissue back to life, pushing away winter's loveless embrace. On the cusp of vernal blossoming, I awaken–renewed.

inspirationalnature poetry

About the Creator

Heather Hubler

Reading/writing/science/family=life

Visit

fb * X * insta

OMG creators

Mike Dharr Cathy DanaS Babs Brin

Gina Tiff Grz KJ Thavien CH Kelli

Veronica BrentonF Paul Dean Holly Lamar

Caroline Melissa JS Donna Moe

Gerald DanaC JBaz Kristen Randy

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  1. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  4. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  5. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

Add your insights

Comments (56)

  • Donna Morgan 12 months ago

    Love your descriptive writing . Your words are full of feelings and impact. Great work.

  • Kristen Balyeat12 months ago

    This was truly a soul rattling poem, Heather! Goodness! Each word held so much weight and landed with intense emotion. This piece was an immersive journey with a gorgeous ending! I was entranced. Wonderful work! 💫💞

  • Amjad Ateih Dib12 months ago

    lovely work don't stop

  • Rob Angeliabout a year ago

    Deep cavern of dispersal, you describe so well the void of unfocused thought and how it becomes unfocused. Hope it wins!

  • Lamar Wigginsabout a year ago

    Wow, such language... In the most appropriate and descriptive way. This was stunning Heather, not sure how I missed it. Congrats on crafting this contender. If this doesn't place, I'll eat my shoe... as long as you give me some bbq sauce. 😅🙏🏽🥇💯

  • WOAabout a year ago

    "Damage seeps through unseen fissures, fracturing thoughts while sinew starts to atrophy, stripped down to pale bleached bone–a snowy hiemal white. An unwelcome affirmation that / Insipid winter's come again to steal my fragile mind. A sleight of hand, a trick to bury me alive in snowdrifts never once suspecting, while." These lines really stuck with me. You have extremely creative and compelling dicton, and your command of syntax is exemplary as well. Congratulations on Top Story!

  • Bex Jordanabout a year ago

    Incredible ❤️

  • J. S. Wadeabout a year ago

    “ On the cusp of vernal blossoming, I awaken–renewed.” This lifts my soul. Congratulations Heather 🥰🥇

  • Bugsy Wattsabout a year ago

    woah

  • Donna Fox (HKB)about a year ago

    Heather I love the raw sensation and emotional triggering vocabulary! Such a great take on the challenge! Also, congratulations on Top Story!! 🎉

  • The Dani Writerabout a year ago

    A truly sensory-inspired piece Heather. What a great job you've done! Congratulations!

  • Judey Kalchik about a year ago

    Thank you for sending me to the dictionary with this one: hiemal is a new word to me, and it kept me on my toes all the way through this.

  • JBazabout a year ago

    By far one of the best for this challenge. Awesome Congratulations

  • Andrew C McDonaldabout a year ago

    I can only picture Hoggle from the movie Labyrinth talking about the horrible, black oubliette, lol. This was written in excellent style. It flows beautifully and makes one ponder. Great job.

  • Sunday Adugba about a year ago

    Unique. I enjoyed it

  • The Invisible Writerabout a year ago

    Wonderful imagery, amazing prose

  • Phil Flanneryabout a year ago

    Damn poets, you made me learn something today. I had to look up oubliette. Still, I got it. This was great.

  • Grz Colmabout a year ago

    Having some issues liking his post, it should have registered now though. My comment seems to have disappeared too. I shall give it a minute and refresh. Apologies.😊

  • Grz Colmabout a year ago

    ☺️👍Wow, spectacular imagery Heather. My acrostic piece also has the word “innards” in it, you wrote it first so I hope it wasn’t copyrighted. 🤣 Jesting of course!

  • Babs Iversonabout a year ago

    Superb & amazing!!! Loved it!!! Congratulations on T S too!!!❤️❤️💕

  • Aphoticabout a year ago

    Outstanding work, Heather. This is visceral and every word is perfectly selected. Definitely learned a few new ones from this as well. Very nicely done!

  • Holly Pheniabout a year ago

    This is incredible! A well-deserved top story. Beautiful, lyrical words!

  • Marilyn Gloverabout a year ago

    A poem to read again and again. Chilling yet beautiful with stunning images! Congratulations on top poem. I hope to see your name in the winners announcement! 👏 👏 👏 🌹 🏆

  • Stephanie J. Bradberryabout a year ago

    Congratulations on Top Story!

Heather HublerWritten by Heather Hubler

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.