Poets logo

One Precious Second

Opened my eyes, my heart, my world

By Colleen Millsteed Published 11 months ago 2 min read
7
Image courtesy of Pixabay

A connection to my soul with just one glance into your eyes

As I walked past you in the grocery isle,

A heartbeat in time, a fleeting moment,

One that opened up my world in a short period of time.

***

The connection was strong,

Just a minute in amongst my lifetime of hours,

But it opened my heart, changed my day,

Left an indelible memory for years to come.

***

Seconds was all it took to open my eyes to a different world,

To change my perception on love of mankind,

Hit by a tsunami of long forgotten feelings

That I’d buried within my yesterdays.

***

My breath stutters from my mouth,

My feet stand still, forgetting how to move,

Frozen in a space of the universe,

Stumbling, falling, finding love of another,

In a spasm of a second,

Every cell of mine expanded, changed, swelled.

***

All it took was a glance from a complete stranger!

***

An innocent grocery shopping trip,

Blew my world to smithereens,

A beating from the other world, a bashing, a reminder,

Of a life as it could be.

***

We never crossed paths again after that unreal day,

But the lesson imparted from one fleeting moment,

Defined my life from that perfect second,

And helped make me into the person I am today.

***

The impact was monumental in ways you’ll never know,

So I send thanks to that one human whom I cannot even name,

My world stood on its head for that precious second,

Showering me in a stranger’s love and empathy,

Opening my heart,

And connecting with my soul.

Please click the link below my name to read more of my work. I would also like to thank you for taking the time to read this today and for all your support.

If you enjoy this piece, you may enjoy this one too.

Please visit my website if you'd like more information on my newly published book, Battle Angel : The Ultimate She Warrior.

Image courtesy of the Author

Originally published on Medium

social commentarylove poems
7

About the Creator

Colleen Millsteed

My first love is poetry — it’s like a desperate need to write, to free up space in my mind, to escape the constant noise in my head. Most of the time the poems write themselves — I’m just the conduit holding the metaphorical pen.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  4. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  5. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

Add your insights

Comments (6)

Sign in to comment
  • Cathy holmes11 months ago

    Beautiful,.my friend.

  • Julia Schulz11 months ago

    Very nice work..moments in time can have great impact on us all. Thanks for embodying them in poetry!

  • Grz Colm11 months ago

    Great work Colleen ! ☺️👍✨ The small moments in life are invariably the best..and it’s those seemingly small occurrences that sometimes lead to the biggest transitions in life, so I love the message and themes of your piece!

  • This made me grin! Made me remember when I had crushes! Gosh I feel that was such a long time ago! Such a lovely poem my friend!

  • All it takes is a moment. When we think all is lost & hopeless, a simple smile, kind word, or selfless deed--even if it is not directed toward us--has the power to brighten our day & restore our faith. Your words & cadences waft through our minds inviting us to reminisce with you, to remember one singular moment, & be moved by it.

  • Linda Rivenbark11 months ago

    Phenomenal!!!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.