Poets logo

Just forget about it, move on

(What it feels like to be in love)

By Maddison NorrisPublished 17 days ago 1 min read
1

Swarovski.

It’s been a long time but I still remember your smile

I remember you saying you wanted to talk to me about something

And I thought that you would finally tell me you loved me

But I guess I had read all the signs wrong

I didn’t know any better, I had never been in love before

But you loved her

You asked me to go with you to the Swarovski shop and help you pick out something she might like

***

Dancing on my own.

I left you alone for a second

And when I looked across the dancefloor

You were kissing her

I wondered what was wrong with me

It didn’t change the way I felt

You said if it wasn’t for her…

Which is possibly the cruelest thing a person can say

***

New.

We shared new feelings

I took you for granted and I was selfish

But it felt good to be loved for the first time

I felt so safe and secure

Then came the new feeling of having it all ripped away

***

Singing in the rain.

-Does she know where we live?

-No.

-Okay because she threatened to come here

-She doesn’t know where you live.

(And that's how I found out he was cheating)

***

Currawong.

Long walks, road trips, you pointing out all the different birds to me

“The look” I would give you

Making different soups and curries

Your lust for life. People watching with coffee

Harold & Maude. The Apartment.

***

My name is yon yonson.

In the end I only felt sorry for you

But hey, at least I got a trip to Hawaii out of it

***

Wild wild west.

I’m here for her

My body went hot, my heart was about to burst out of it’s chest

Your handsome face, the way you smelt

You asked to kiss me one last time

Before I tell you something that will make you hate me

sad poetrylove poemsheartbreak
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Manisha Dhalani17 days ago

    Wow, okay. This was some good writing.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.