Poets logo

On the floor looking up

a poem

By Heather HublerPublished 10 months ago 2 min read
Top Story - July 2023
54
Created with NightCafeStudio

'We just pick ourselves back up'

Is something I'm often told,

But what if I just want to lie awhile

Here on the floor

Letting the warmth of the tiles seep into my

Tired bones. It feels divine.

The whir of the ceiling fan,

A slice of white noise to cover the

Cacophony of sheep bleating in my ear

And ghosts of the past with their whispering and taunts.

It stirs up dust motes that float in the

Sunlight sneaking through

The tear in the dumb blind I was

Supposed to fix.

~

But that's okay.

It's just enough light for my head to loll

Side to side, seeing nothing and

Everything at the same time.

I'm alone. Again.

Sometimes it's needed solitude, a respite.

And the silence transcends,

Transforming this muddy plane

Into bits of stories and rhymes,

Emotive images that merge together

To create something wholly new

And wondrous.

I can escape for awhile and just be.

~

Other times it feels like the weight of the world

Sits on my chest.

The compression cracks my ribs

And squeezes my heart

A protest sits on my lips that it's all too much.

One, two, three...I suck air in and out,

Counting through the agony and

Lifting my limbs one at a time,

Pins and needles slowly prodding them

Back to life.

~

There are days when sitting up is all I'm able to do.

The tile doesn't feel quite as comfortable,

The white noise begins to grate,

And I think about standing.

However, today is not that day.

Instead I've taken to kneeling,

Pouring out the bitterness that's

Become an infection,

My stomach heaving in response

Trying to purge my demons,

My insecurities, my fears.

Pale and shaking, I succumb to the floor

Once more.

~

Another day dawns, milky rays of light

Drifting through that same

Damn blind.

Something feels different though,

A subtle shift in the air,

A current running across my skin

Raising all the hairs and

Reminding me I'm still here.

I'm still kicking.

~

I think I want to try standing today.

____________________________________________________

Inspired by a kind comment that Mariann Carroll left on my poem, hey you. She said, "We just pick ourselves back up." And that got me to thinking...

sad poetryinspirational
54

About the Creator

Heather Hubler

Reading/writing/science/family=life

Visit

fb * X * insta

OMG creators

Mike Dharr Cathy DanaS Babs Brin

Gina Tiff Grz KJ Thavien CH Kelli

Veronica BrentonF Paul Dean Holly Lamar

Caroline Melissa JS Donna Moe

Gerald DanaC JBaz Kristen Randy

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  4. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  5. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

Add your insights

Comments (39)

Sign in to comment
  • Kayleigh Fraser ✨10 months ago

    Ohhh this is very well written. I had already loved it before I finished the first verse. Well done and thank you for sharing ❤️

  • Donna Fox (HKB)10 months ago

    Heather, this has been on my reading list for so long and I am so happy to have finally had a chance to read it! This so relatable and really hits home for me! You pulled no punches as you vividly described the sensation of what it's like to have one of those days. Congratulations on Top Story, that badge was so well earned and I am so glad to have finally read this one! It was well worth the wait! 😊

  • Ruth Stewart10 months ago

    I completely relate. Instagrammed (not sure if that's a word) and tweeted. Brilliant.

  • Another great piece. What a wonderful talent you are. Congrats!!

  • Joelle E🌙10 months ago

    💪🏼👏🏼❤️❤️❤️❤️

  • Paul Stewart10 months ago

    Love this one and thought I had commented already! well done, Heather, this is quite incredible and deserving of Top Story!

  • Melissa Ingoldsby10 months ago

    This is truly the enthralling measure of the human experience encapsulated in one poem!! Absolutely brilliant and truly poignantly deep.💕👏🌟👏🎉🥰❤️

  • Ward Norcutt10 months ago

    quite the rollercoaster! some really lovely images here: these are special... dumb blinds a slice of white noise kudos - wardo

  • Celeste10 months ago

    A beautifully detailed description of a hefty emotion. I enjoy the hope you brought in at the end. Thank you.

  • D. ALEXANDRA PORTER10 months ago

    Deep & Authentic! Congratulations on Top Story! 👏

  • If all of that came from one comment, what would you do with this line from me?... (just kidding, I can't even think of a profound line to challenge or inspire you with). There are so many parts I love of this poem, but this one carried the most depth of the complexity of feeling motivated and stuck at the same time: "A protest sits on my lips that it's all too much." Congratulations on Top Story!

  • Margaret Brennan10 months ago

    I have days like that. We might all have days like that. Hope you're feeling better.

  • Dean F. Hardy10 months ago

    Stupid fucking blind.

  • Dana Stewart10 months ago

    Congratulations on your Top Story 🎉

  • JBaz10 months ago

    Love how you did this from a prompt(of sorts) Well done , congratulations

  • Marilyn Glover10 months ago

    I often find myself on the floor staring up at the ceiling fan whenever I have a lot on my mind and my heart is feeling heavy! Congratulations on top story, Heather!

  • Dana Crandell10 months ago

    I've been waiting to see this one on the list. Congratulations!

  • Judey Kalchik 10 months ago

    I missed this- thank goodness it is a Top Story! This spoke to me today, and I thank you: And I think about standing. However, today is not that day. Instead I've taken to kneeling,

  • Sonia Heidi Unruh10 months ago

    Okay Heather, I know I say this a lot, but I think this is my new favorite poem of yours!

  • Gina C.10 months ago

    Oh my, how on Earth am I just seeing this? This is so vulnerable, yet at the same time, it resonates with such strength. I am constantly in awe of how you pull these thoughts out of such abstract spaces and give them life, my friend! So relatable and real. This speaks to me on son many levels. Congratulations on an amazing Top Story! 🥹❤️🤗🤗 And, hugs to you!

  • Cathy holmes10 months ago

    There it is! Congrats on the TS, Empress.

  • Congratulations on your Top Story

  • Congratulations on your Top Story 🎉💖💯😉

  • Antoinette L Brey10 months ago

    I was,telling one of my customers about your poem today. She seemed to really identify with the ideas you were expressing. It relaxed her that someone else felt like she did

  • It's always okay to try taking just one small step each day. And it's always okay to just lie there for however long we want to. Progress and healing is messy and subjective. We only move as fast as we can, not as fast as people expect us to. Sending you lots of love and hugs my looney partner! 💖

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.