Poets logo

map quest

a poem

By Heather HublerPublished 8 months ago β€’ 1 min read
Top Story - December 2023
Created with CanvaPro

lost to dreams and fantasy

in languid noon-day heat,

a tendril of salted breeze

swirls across sea and surf,

stretching and yawning over

sun-bleached sands

and sleek colored shells

drawn to its destination.

it tickles my toes,

floats up my bare calves,

slides along my lean thighs

teasing

and exploring.

tiny curls ruffled

in soft caress

as it reaches the smooth

expanse of my hips.

oh how I long for

the feel of your

mouth on my skin,

your rough tongue

seeking buried treasure

along my sacred dips and valleys,

ink and scars

branded, a map

for your calloused hands

to trace.

the warm whorl pushes

higher,

skimming the fullness of

my curves,

snaking up and around

the arch of my back

til it rests like a yoke,

heavy on my shoulders.

only a whisper left

to cross my wanting lips,

craving you.

missing you.

pulling at the words

i don't want to say–

i'm sorry you're gone.

___________________________________________________

Thank you for reading! I think this started as a Smooth Challenge entry but then did what it wanted, lol.

sad poetrylove poems

About the Creator

Heather Hubler

Reading/writing/science/family/coffee = my life

Visit

fb * X * insta

OMG creators

Mike Dharr Cathy Babs Brin

Gina Grz KJ CH Kelli Poppy Kenny

BrentonF Paul Dean Lamar

Caroline Melissa JS HannahM

Gerald DanaC JBaz Kristen

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (29)

  • Kendall Defoe 8 months ago

    Longing and lust... A painful combination... TS time... πŸ…

  • Brenton F8 months ago

    Congrats on the TS for this moving piece!

  • Kenny Penn8 months ago

    Wow Heather this is an amazing bit of poetry! Absolutely brilliant

  • Yayyyyy I'm back to say congratulations on your Top Story!

  • Kristen Balyeat8 months ago

    Damn! Heather! πŸ”₯ This piece is so insanely amazing! Not just the way you wrote the vivid poetic sexiness, but the deeper layers of this piece just messed with my heart. I’m so happy you let this one go where it wanted. Brilliant, my friend!! πŸ’«πŸ’ž

  • Jay Kantor8 months ago

    Hi-H ~ Of course you can cancel me for saying this, but your 'misleading' intro drew me into this read. I thought you were referring to that "MapQuest" Gadget thingy on my dashboard of my new 'lectric car that they had to give me 'Classroom' instructions on how to navigate it before I ran it into the ditch. I know a 'Guy-Thing' I'm not very romantic...but, lovely poem. 'J' in L.A.

  • Donna Fox (HKB)8 months ago

    Wow... this was a bit of a rollercoaster! It felt hot and sensual for a good bit and then you threw in a twist and made it tragic! Beautifully done Heather!! I think this is my favourite piece by you of all time!! Well.... favourite poem! Spy Tip #14 is still a classic of yours for me!! πŸ’š Congrats on Top Story, this is so well deserved and earned!!

  • Shirley Belk8 months ago

    WOW! What it means to be a woman...wonderful

  • Melissa Ingoldsby8 months ago

    Very sad piece with visceral tones of intimacy and longing

  • Can't beat when the story tells the tale. What a gift you have. Congrats Heather

  • JBaz8 months ago

    No doubt this was a top story Congratulations

  • Daphsam8 months ago

    Congratulations on your top story! Well deserved!

  • Congratulations on the top story! Very much deserved. This had such a great flow to it and I loved the vivid vocabulary. It really opens your senses and allows you to experience the piece. Excellent job!

  • A wonderful poem and a well deserved accolade

  • Dana Crandell8 months ago

    Well, I missed this one somehow when you first published it, but holey moley, this is good! More positive proof that sometimes we have to let them write themselves. Way to go, Heather!

  • Cathy holmes8 months ago

    Congrats on the TS, Empress.

  • Babs Iverson8 months ago

    Brilliant!!! That happens!!! Congratulations on Top Story!!!β€οΈβ€οΈπŸ’•

  • Paul Stewart8 months ago

    There it is...clearly Vocal are now happy to share this with even more people by sticking it on the main page. Well done, Heather. Congrats to you! See what happens when you just let it all come out...

  • Which is worse, for the beloved to be physically absent or emotionally? Both create an ache in the heart & the pit of the stomach, one of brokenness the other of sickness (though oft it is difficult to distinguish between the two), causing the mind to swim & the soul to drown in an ocean so vast it is all but impossible to find hope.

  • Lol, I loved how it did what it wanted! Those are the best kinda writing and your poem proves that. So smooth and gorgeous!

  • Antoinette L Brey8 months ago

    I enjoyed this

  • marie e ehlenbach8 months ago

    It is very beautiful!

  • I love this, so clever and beautiful. But I like your note at the end the best. "It did what it wants". Sometimes it just does, doesn't it :-D xx

  • JBaz8 months ago

    Is it hot on here? I think it’s hot in here. Well that’s a good way to start the week, Thank you Heather.

Heather HublerWritten by Heather Hubler

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

Β© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.