Poets logo

Living in the City on the 4th of July

AKA - a cacophony of sights and sounds

By Lynda SpargurPublished 12 months ago 2 min read

I wake in the morning to screaming in the hallway

Echoing in my room

Oh no! What’s happening?

The neighbor is locked out

She kicks her door causing a loud

Bang! then silence once again as air whooshes through the cracks

Rising I stretch in the morning light

The sun hides behind the clouds

I jump as my furry companion attacks me feet

She runs and hides under the bed

Time to pour some coffee as fireworks crack in the street

Good lord, people! It’s eight am!

Clean up the coffee I spilled on the counter

Then take a drink as another round of noise harks from outside

It’s been hot in the city, but I take a chance and open the window

A cacophony of sound envelopes the room

Sirens from the fire trucks as they race to the scene

The click-clack-whir of the homeless man’s cart

As he shuffles down the street

A car engine revs and races up the road

Leaving a trail of car alarms in it’s wake

What a glorious morning!

The sun begins to peer through the early morning gloom

Warming up the air and waking the rest of the idiots

Er, I mean patriots

More fireworks this time from the direction of the police station

It’s a day of celebration!

In many, many forms.

The sun has warmed too much for most to bear

The homeless couple in the tent prepare themselves for war

They yell and scream throwing clothes and debris in the street

Then one wanders off to find food for them both

It’s a glorious sight to see

A glom of motorcycles roll by,

With flags flapping in the breeze

Their engines roar as if to say,

Hey! Come, look at me.

Another round of car alarms that echo through concrete

I close the window shutting out the heat and sounds

Gather ‘round the barbecue

No hamburgers, a hot dog for me

Spend the day with family and friends

Music, food, and water fights

Trying hard to stay cool

Here it comes once again…

A boomer in the distance

The sun begins to wane

The air begins to cool

As night begins to fall, it is time

Let’s light it up tonight

Red and white and blue the firecrackers crackle

Children laugh and cry

We all lay down upon our backs and watch the sky

As the light show ends, the music fades and people wander off

The air stinks with the odor of gun powder,

I gather up my things and head back inside

My furry friend comes out for me

She no longer tries to hide

I open the window again and listen to the night

Sirens blast and people yell as the moon shines on us all

Slowly the world outside my window

Calms down as everyone goes back to sleep

Another Fourth of July has past

Happy birthday America

love poemssocial commentaryhumor

About the Creator

Lynda Spargur

Screenwriter, Author, Creative Writer

Writer, dreamer, creator of new imaginary souls. Using my experiences to develop a better future. Crime stories, baseball and The Beach Boys are my passions.

Authors I love:

Tony

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insight

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (2)

  • Denise E Lindquist7 months ago

    Thank you! 💖 We don't miss it! You described it well! We would leave as often as we could to a quieter place and now in retirement, we are full-time in a quieter place and we choose to not participate unless there are grandchildren here.

  • C. H. Richard11 months ago

    lol That was great! My poor pup hides during fireworks season too. Well done 🎆

Lynda SpargurWritten by Lynda Spargur

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.