Poets logo

The Morning After

Did you survive

By Jahnari RoséPublished 5 days ago 2 min read
Best Day Ever

There was a storm last night,

I can't quite put my finger on why I keep believing that the good in my life is not meant for me.

There was a storm,

I panic in fear whether you are the best friend I've had or the softest listener to hear me when I speak.

I was bailing the rainwater out of a boat with a bucket when both had so many holes,

Destined to sink not realizing I was wasting my energy because I am all I needed to float.

All I had to do was let go of paddle and bucket but my character was undecided,

My brain, heart, body, and soul were avoiding a unanimous vote.

There was storm last night,

The tides began to rage,

The winds were too strong to change,

The clouds were the diabolical mage,

Lightning and thunder were the emotions and from that book I took a page,

Too loud and profound to hear my cries,

The veins of light painted the stinging masterpiece of pain in the sky,

There was a storm last night,

Foot on the break only brought the spark,

The push of one button and this is where therapy starts,

The mission of no return with the throttle to the ground lets watch physics play its part,

Intrusive thoughts to deviate the most dangerous game is played,

You hold tight then quickly let go hoping you dont get carried away,

The wind whistles as the world around you zooms past your face,

Your life has yet to flash before you because you had a ghost to chase,

Breaking intermittently to reach a safer pace, It took one “captain on your left.” for you to continue the race.

Hurricane mercy almost a song,

Too fast for that to be rain on my face,

The cover for a goodbye and good riddance drifting into place.

The soothing sound of your transmission overcoming its gears,

You let go of the one thing separating you from crossing the line of everyone's fears.

There was a storm,

I count six hurricanes attached and within four doors,

Two on the left, The damage will be heavy.

Two on the right, Just when you thought you survived, a reality check for when you are least ready.

Two more on the inside,

One guided to every single path you chose,

One is always with you unable to escape no matter how fast you go,

This is the morning after,

Your most beautiful disaster,

Even at your max this is a length you wouldn't have been able to go,

The problem is that you entertained the idea that you did not know.

There was never a song for you because what you wanted was to experience joy,

The problem is you because you always want control,

Learn to love the river and watch as the best things come and go.

There was storm,

Once again you survived,

There was storm,

Yet you did not hide,

Now that war is on the horizon you will wish that you would have tried,

Prepare for more than Glory you are a conquerer in the flesh defined.

There was a hell of a storm last night,

Thankful nobody died.

surreal poetry

About the Creator

Jahnari Rosé

“Do not explain your philosophy, Live it..”

I write about love, healing, and self-development.

I take most of my own photos.

I post work on Instagram @roze.writes25.

All written and approved for submission under © 2023 Rozeville, Inc

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Jahnari RoséWritten by Jahnari Rosé

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.