Poets logo

Now you see me

No you don't

By Jahnari RoséPublished 20 days ago 5 min read
Stop thinking you know me.

A two-sided story,

no witnesses around to tell,

On one hand, we've always been great,

Not everyone thinks they can tell,

On the other, I don't participate,

I've secured a comfortable seat on my way to hell.

The aggravation of being discredited of your work due to the overrated shadow that owns your soul.

I was greatness before I sold out and now all of a sudden you see me as a whole.

I don't want your congratulations, thanks, or your praise I was once better than this standard and you were always looking the wrong way.

What I am now is still a product of my own work you can't change the foundation of where the molds you use were made.

Unsatisfactory appreciation you fill my rage-induced heart with disdain.

You don't know the pain.

Salt and Sugar sure do look the same,

Under a microscope, the structure shows a bit differently.

With no intention of listening so many of them only hear,

They want to know how I feel,

Now I can tell and you will still never see me.

Designed to find ourselves and similarities first when relating to anything that is not our own.

I feel like I didn't want to miss out,

selfishly I wanted everything except for my commitment.

As childish as they come but honest as can be.

I feel like I don't fit the puzzle of what we were before we changed.

You lost someone I wasn't there,

I lost myself and nobody could hear,

yet we pretend knowing we don't like it and we don't care.

You got what you wanted but isn't exactly what you thought,

I lost what I wanted and my heart since then had been still and it's not in the right spot.

You became one with what seems to be meant for you,

I found success in achieving the things I wanted for myself,

Yet all the good for us there seems to be something lacking in between.

I'm in my bag I guess but my chest needs to breathe, I was looking for support and you were busy not loving the challenge for me.

Either way, it is not the same when they're proud of me. I shouldn't have held it in but it felt like you were ignoring me. I tried to open up the hard conversation but I guess it was approached too boringly.

They tell me to speak up,

I open my mouth and then they speak over me.

Or they just don't hear me so I space out accordingly.

Now you see me but it feels like it is too late,

What once felt like it was on top of the world suddenly doesn't feel so great.

I guess whatever happens next has to be fate,

Forget what you saw before I'm respectfully in distaste, I suffocated in silence while you were finding your happy place.

You should hate me now before I change into my next face.

I've torn down and broken their heart,

You tell me I am a mystery then claim to have me figured out from the start,

You barely make it through my surface level and it is tearing you apart,

You want to hate me so much and I won't stop you and you think I'm playing a part,

As real as it is I'm not going to be able to take you to the moon when we are worlds apart.

You tell me to speak to you in person but we know how many complications that would start.

You think I was in love with you on a bad trip to the store with a big hole in your heart.

Your mistake is trying to psych me into believing you understand,

You couldn’t possibly have figured me out more than I have in such a short period,

Project as much as needed and paint whatever pictures you may,

We didn’t work because weren’t meant to at the end of the day.

Sharper than steel folded,

Colder than buried ice,

You want a version of my heart that was exhausted,

Pressing that issue made you pay the price.

If only you’d listened to me when my silence was loud,

You swear I have no feelings not knowing of the scars in which I am drowned.

Lost in mania confused by the changing faces,

Time for both of us to finally move on so we can reflect from better places.

I should’ve lied and said I never liked you in the first place.

Let’s be real this piece has no disses,

Just a whole lot of shit that made me feel some type of way.

No shots were taken the last time I shot blanks or hit a stray was on a training day.

So do some quick self-reflection if something I write has you feeling some type of way.

Just my truth I'm not sorry you feel that way.

I would say they have forgotten who I was but I don’t think many notice who I was anyway.

Now that you think you see me I hope you still feel the same.

I'm the piece of shit,

I’m the good for nothing dog,

I'm the canvas of projection that your bottled-up emotions let loose on.

Forever grateful for all that’s been done for me,

Understanding as I could be,

I don’t need your training wheels stop feeling sorry for me.

I’ll take this L and walk away,

I trusted everyone for too long,

It’s time that I let go and just do my own thing.

I'm sorry that you wanted me to be your successor or project,

I'm not your sculpture so please stop trying to cultivate me.

Now you should see me,

Far from what you may have believed before,

Call it what you want but I want no more opinions from the audience,

I’ll just fuck my life from now on by myself,

Maybe I’ll learn faster,

I’m tired of the misunderstood cries for help that I’ve sent,

I’ve long outgrown this environment.

Respectfully leave me to be alone my mind has been made,

Now you see me,

Nothing will be the same,

Fuck this life I'm living right now,

There is something else in this world that is calling for me to be.

I can’t keep getting held back by what you think you see in me.

Brides will be burned,

Standing in the smoke this is the last version of me you will see,

Im going solo,

they took too long to see me,

Now this is the end of the scissors,

I hope you never lose the ability to believe,

I’ve asked for help for the last time,

You always pictured me wrong,

I hope honestly,

Now You See Me,

Sincerely, The me I see.

slam poetry

About the Creator

Jahnari Rosé

“Do not explain your philosophy, Live it..”

I write about love, healing, and self-development.

I take most of my own photos.

I post work on Instagram @roze.writes25.

All written and approved for submission under © 2023 Rozeville, Inc

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran20 days ago

    Whoaaaa, this waa so freaking deep! I loved it

  • A well said poem. Nailed it.

Jahnari RoséWritten by Jahnari Rosé

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.