Poets logo

The Last Goodbye

The darkness of irreplaceable loss

By N.I.B.Published 4 days ago 1 min read

A life dedicated to the fight,

Against the foe that takes our light,

Cancer's grasp, so cold and tight,

Took my love, my heart's delight.

I held his hand, so weak and pale,

Remembering laughter, love's sweet gale,

Promises made, a cure to hail,

But fate had other plans, a final fail.

His eyes, once bright, grew dim and grey,

His voice, a whisper, faded away,

My tears, a river, flowed like rain,

As I begged fate, "Please, just a little more time to stay".

His final breath, a smile so wide,

"I'm proud of you", his love did reside,

In my heart, a piece forever torn,

My world, a darkness, forever forlorn.

I weep, a sorrow, without reprieve,

For the love we had, the life we'd conceive,

Though I saved many, I couldn't save one,

My heart, forever broken, my love, forever gone.

sad poetry

About the Creator

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (5)

  • shadepretty3 days ago

    It always sad to say ur last goodbye

  • Maryam4 days ago

    Good bye's the saddest word.... Nice poem

  • A sad one

  • Xeexarh~4 days ago

    ㅠㅠㅠ 😣

NWritten by N.I.B.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.