Poets logo

Dating in this generation

Does not make sense

By Merjaunie LenaPublished 4 days ago Updated 4 days ago 1 min read
Dating in this generation
Photo by Nik on Unsplash

Dating in today's generation has come down to only hook ups

It went from actually taking someone out on a date to only staying in for " Netflix and Chill "

It seems it's so hard to find a real kind of love now a days

It seems everyone is afraid of commitment

But is not afraid of having sexual intercourse with someone without protection

Make that make sense...

It's like people praise how many bodies they have under their list

Rather than praising one person and how strong their love is for one another

Where no one wants a commitment anymore

But would rather just have sex with someone as part of a situationship

I personally crave a love from just one person

It's a want though not a need

Don't get that twisted

This generation of what " love " is sucks

People are afraid to show they care because that means they are " whipped "

Or showing you care isn't cool

But not showing you care is not remotely attractive one bit

I'd rather have someone show me they want me rather than not show me at all.

It just does not make sense anymore

People have now joined dating apps to try and find something

To find some sort of connection besides just sex

It seems it is just getting more difficult to actually be with someone now

That's why people are choosing to be single and independent

Rather than let someone just hit it and quit it

People are choosing to stay single

Because it's easier that way

For Funslam poetrylove poems

About the Creator

Merjaunie Lena

I write to express, and clear my head, it's my therapy.

It's not perfect, but nothing is

Being able to vent without a filter is the best way to go.

I am not a professional writer

Check it out 👇🏻

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • Kendall Defoe 4 days ago

    This is me. I am single and independent after years of wondering what the hell was going on. And maybe we should be specific about the generation in questions. I'm GenX and have my own opinion on my time of life.

Merjaunie LenaWritten by Merjaunie Lena

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.