Poets logo

This Generation.

To Z or not to Z.

By Joe O’ConnorPublished 3 days ago 1 min read
Top Story - June 2024
This Generation.
Photo by Steve Johnson on Unsplash

“Hi Grandad.”

“Oh, hello there, son.”

“Happy Birthday.."

“Why thank you – I do feel another year older, but I’m not sure I feel any wiser!”

“Ha.”

“I’m not sure this is going to sound particularly fun to young ears, but the paper has published its 'best books for the year' list this morning. I’d say that’s me sorted perusing the library for the day! Maybe topped off with a birthday whiskey-dry this evening.”

“Cool.”

“So, how’s school going, have they got you reading much these days?”

“Mm.. not really.”

“Oh, that is a shame. No Shakespeare, then?”

“Nah.”

Hrmph. What a pity. Do you fancy a game?”

“A game?”

“Of chess.”

“On my phone? It’s single-player.”

“No, on my board, there. I’ll set it up if you’d like. We could have a right go at it – grasshopper versus the master.”

“Um. That’s okay.”

“Oh, alright. Well. Would you like to stay for a cuppa? Or for dinner? I’m no chef but I can put together something nice.”

“I’d better be going…”

“Are you sure? You are most welcome to stay, I can turn the tele on…”

“I’d better head…”

“Okay, son. It was lovely to see you. Thank you for stopping by. You’re welcome here anytime. I love hearing what you're getting up to.”

“Kay. See ya G-dad.”

social commentaryFamily

About the Creator

Joe O’Connor

New Zealander living in London

Teacher of English and History, and sport-lover

Mostly short stories and poems📚

Feel free to be honest- one constructive comment beats a hundred generic ones

Currently writing James The Wonderer

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (19)

  • Sherif Saadabout 9 hours ago

    Great work

  • CHRISTIAN Pabout 22 hours ago

    Great 👍

  • Brilliant story

  • Hmmm maybe not to Z, LOL. Poor gramps trying so hard. Great story, loved it and fabulous Top Story!!💕

  • Simon Georgea day ago

    Very true. It's a shame that it takes losing something to know how important those little moments truly are.

  • Ameer Bibi2 days ago

    Brilliantly woven I must say thus story deserved to be on top Many congratulations

  • I'm a Millenial but that is me with my grandparents. On second thought, I'm like this with everyone 😅😅 Congratulations on your Top Story! 🎉💖🎊🎉💖🎊

  • Mackenzie Davis2 days ago

    You captured this perfectly. That discomfort of not knowing how to engage with the older generation, it’s so heartbreaking to see the rejection. Especially on his birthday. So well done, Joe.

  • Caroline Jane2 days ago

    Oooo. I am conflicted by this one. Such truth and yet as I grow older I want to reach in to a young world not draw them into mine. How do we enable ourselves to connect better as we age? This is a question I challenge myself with every day. Very thought provoking. ❤️

  • D. J. Reddall2 days ago

    This seemingly pleasant chat reveals how readily--and lamentably--gentle offers of communion, both with the elder and the culture he loves, can be ignored. Nicely done!

  • Paul Stewart2 days ago

    Boom! Congrats on a blimey that's quick Top Story, but one that is deserved!

  • How lovely that is! Brilliant.

  • Hannah Moore3 days ago

    Stay, boy, stay!

  • D.K. Shepard3 days ago

    Despite the title I still hoped for a sweet interaction as this started out. The grandson shooting down all of the grandfather’s suggested activities was so sad. Excellent dialogue poem, Joe!

  • T. Licht3 days ago

    👌❤️💕

  • Dana Crandell3 days ago

    All too accurate, and very well written. Great job, Joe!

  • Rachel Deeming3 days ago

    I'm with Paul. Nice to be remembered but sad that there's no time offered or words really. A poignant piece, Joe.

  • Paul Stewart3 days ago

    I dunno why...but this was warm...but also...just kinda sad. Seems the way with every new generation not having as much time for previous generations. I don't think it's the case always...but it definitely is worsening...I would sound like a grumpy old man if I said it was all the distractions we have now - but that's partly the truth. Well written and left me lots to ponder, great entry Joe!

Joe O’ConnorWritten by Joe O’Connor

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.