Poets logo

Letdown

A sonnet

By TheSpinstressPublished about a month ago 1 min read
6
Letdown
Photo by Gift Habeshaw on Unsplash

For who’s so dumb they cannot write to thee?

A perfect muse if ever one was born.

The one so dumb might easily be me,

but what you’ll never read you cannot scorn.

I went to our museum, saw a gem

The whisky colour boasted by your eyes

a Cairngorm in a Georgian diadem;

the kind of ostentation you despise.

I thought it wouldn’t do for imagery

so took a walk along a beachy strand,

sure I would find some floating artistry;

and then I saw you with her hand-in-hand.

I felt a pressure lift, a great weight gone;

No need for this poetic marathon!

By Jessica Favaro on Unsplash

If you liked this poem you might like: I still have nothing to compare to your eyes, a different take on the same problem!

Please let me know what you thought of this poem in the comments, and subscribe if you liked it! :)

heartbreakSonnetlove poemshumor
6

About the Creator

TheSpinstress

New bio in progress :)

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarranabout a month ago

    The guy she saw hand in hand with another at the beach was her boyfriend/husband?

  • Lovely sonnet… beautiful rhythm & rhyme. I agree… the beach is inspirational!… ‘so took a walk along a beachy strand, sure I would find some floating artistry” … but it turned out that you didn’t need to continue😳

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.