Poets logo

Her Denouement

an acrostic poem

By Gina C.Published 10 days ago 1 min read
16
Image created with Midjourney

Every day at break of dawn, I

Cradle a new darling—a new fawn

Lightly in my palms (as) fingers leap above a stage of keys in lyrical ballet. This

Infant of a friend will linger—as a song—in my mind until she

Pirouettes—no longer just an unpenned duckling, grey and without grace…

She becomes a swan. I set her free to grand jeté into the open, where

Earth can catch a fleeting glimpse before she fades into her denouement...into the ebb of pixelated ether web, and space.

*

-Gina C. 🧚‍♀️✨

*

Author's Note: I've had the idea for this poem for a long time. It seems silly, but each poem, or story, is like a friend to me. Each and every one of them becomes my morning companion as I throw love, thought, and rawness into them while drinking my coffee before work. ❤️

For this poem, I wanted to capture the fleeting life of my stories. I feel like we put so much work and dedication into our pieces, which enjoy a brief celebration as we publish them here and make them viewable to all. Then, inevitably, they fade into the dark internet background as the attention on them wanes.

While it breaks my heart a little each time, I know that tomorrow, there will always be a new friend. ❤️

***

Thank you so much for all your support! 🥹 I'm around a little less these days, but I'm still here and am still trying to read all your wonderful work when I'm able to. 🥹

love poems
16

About the Creator

Gina C.

Achievements:

  • Twice-published in Vocal's Moment of Freedom Collection:

My Soul of Red

Free Verse

Free-Form poet of ethereal style🧚‍♀️✨

Fantasy writer

A sucker for a good rhyme☺️

Fueled by a conflicted soul of fire & water

TT: poetry.in_pajamas

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (13)

Sign in to comment
  • Pauline Fountaina day ago

    Hi Gina I have to contact Vocal because my Insights no longer work. Previously it was intermittent but this poem is worthy of every one! I read your Author’s note and yes I agree. How wonderful for this idea to become realised. You must feel proud of this piece. It presents to me a unique and eloquent take on the Challenge. ‘I set her free to grand jeté into the open, where Earth can catch a fleeting glimpse before she fades into her denouement’ I find this very moving. Thank you for writing and publishing. What a wonderful start to my day! For a read of mine I’ll add a link here but also in the Challenges FB group. It is for the ‘Just one minute’ Challenge. https://vocal.media/fiction/paused Pauline 🌸

  • The Dani Writer2 days ago

    Gina, in a world that has too much "hard" in it, the soft, slow touch of this poem is both a blessing and a gift. 🩵🕊️🩵

  • Tiffany Gordon 3 days ago

    Beautiful work Gina! BRAVO!!

  • Lovely words for the challenge

  • Teresa Renton5 days ago

    How beautiful! Initially I thought you were writing about a human, then, after reading the note, realised otherwise. I love this gorgeous metaphor and it resonates deeply. I definitely feel as if my words are tentatively walking onto a stage before my hits paper or my fingers keys 🥰

  • Cathy holmes8 days ago

    This is so beautiful and I love the reference to writing our stories. Another beauty, my friend.

  • Ah, isn't that the sad truth. I truly loved how you portrayed that feeling so brilliantly with your Acrostic! Well done, my dear Red Partner. It was stunningly beautiful!

  • D.K. Shepard10 days ago

    You captured your concept so beautifully and lyrically in this! Our stories are our little performers we send spinning out into the wide world!

  • Thavien Yliaster10 days ago

    If You love something, set it free. If it comes back to You it was meant to be.

  • Christian Lee10 days ago

    Interesting lines Gina. Your rhythm greatly changed after the second line so I was a little lost, but looking up "pirouette", "fawn", and "pixelated" guided me. Indeed, there is a music and dance to a poem's arrival; and much more so for certain poets. The dance terminology is great! I wholeheartedly vie with your meaning. Interestingly, likening this to an eclipse is a great and subtle use of metaphor. It even seems like you had more to say, as if the acrostic form couldn't handle all of the meaning and rapture you experience at the "break of dawn." Nice to be reading your work again. :)

  • Heather Hubler10 days ago

    I loved this so much. A beautiful, lyrical entry. And I feel similarly about my own, I guess we all do. I love that you have new friends to say hello to after yesterday's have been let go :)

  • Dana Crandell10 days ago

    What a beautiful way to describe the writing process, Gina! Unforutnately, my typing is far from a lyrical ballet. It's more like a drunken stagger. 😉

  • Beautifully done. I really appreciated the explanation for the poem, you are always so graceful and elegant.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.