Poets logo

My Soul of Red

A poem about a brightly-lit liberty, blossomed and sparked from having finally found my inner fire. 🌹🔥

By Gina C.Published 2 years ago Updated about a year ago 3 min read
11

Be it may

what it will be.

But in many ways

I’m bound to be

a blooming wonder;

and after many years

I am all at once, and finally

stepping free of all my covers -

my ardent flames

I no longer wish

to smother.

*

Be it how

it’s set to go,

but when all is darkened,

I shall glow,

and you shall see me lighting up

the room;

in countless years of winter gloom and slumber,

I’ve dreamt of sun-inspired afternoons,

and the time

is finally mine

to bloom my fiery wonder.

*

Be there hearts,

or be there arrows;

my new world shall be a-sound with all the sparrows

and the robins,

and when all is done,

and all is said,

My soul of Red

shall never be forgotten.

*

Be there tears,

or be there laughter;

my ruby light will blossom

from disaster,

and though a part of me

may always

reflect blue;

from chains of self-hate I have broken -

I shall no longer

be soft-spoken -

and with the spring time

I am born again - renewed;

I’ve awoken with decision

I’m no longer my own prison,

and with mirrors and prisms

I’ll now refract

my bluest blues.

*

Be there wonder,

or be their wisdom;

I’ll now sing for all

who faintly listen,

and though I may never be

the biggest, brightest star,

I’ll now glisten for eternity,

having found my inner liberty -

and I shall always be

a vision

from afar.

*

Be there light,

or be there shadows;

I know not

where the all the time goes,

but once I’ve flown

around the sun

for the last time,

though my

earthly essence may

eclipse….

my Soul of Red

will bloom tulips

that kiss the world with

reminiscence of my reign;

and I’ll be free

and liberated,

for my Soul of Red

will have created

the very fire I have needed

to effervesce my scarlet flame.

*

Be there blue jays

or canaries;

I’ll be spring

in February,

and quite contrary

to the roses

I shall blossom;

and I will finally

find a spot in

my own free world –

just like the robins;

and when all is said,

My soul of Red

shall never be forgotten. 💃🏻

*

-Gina C.🧚‍♀️✨

***

Author's Note: This is one of my favorite poems I've written about finally coming into my own and letting my fire glow - about finally being free of my "blue".

I write a lot about having a conflicted spirit of both blue and red - of equal parts fire and water. If you follow me, you'll see this theme pop up a lot. While I am the most "at home" in blue, I've always strived and dreamed of being red. The fire exists within me, and it does shine through at times. :) This poem is a celebration of that. ✨🌹❤️ While blue may be my natural state, I am the most "free" when I am red because this is when I'm able to step out of my shell and shine. ✨

If you are interested to see more of my work that incorporates my red/blue theme, I suggest checking out these on my page: "Free Verse", "Freebird" (a story), and "Slipping into Blue".

**********************************************************************

Thank you so much for reading! ☺️ I'm working really hard to grow my community on Vocal, so if you enjoyed this poem, I'd be over the moon if we could be friends and support each other here!

I reciprocate all comments, hearts, and subscriptions. :) ❤️

inspirational
11

About the Creator

Gina C.

Achievements:

  • Twice-published in Vocal's Moment of Freedom Collection:

My Soul of Red

Free Verse

Free-Form poet of ethereal style🧚‍♀️✨

Fantasy writer

A sucker for a good rhyme☺️

Fueled by a conflicted soul of fire & water

TT: poetry.in_pajamas

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  4. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Faith Lovellabout a year ago

    I relate so much with coming to own your red more than / as much as your blue. Wonderful words and imagery.. loving your poems!

  • As always, your poem had a burning passion. It was so powerful and inspirational! We both always strive to be Red!

  • Veronica Coldironabout a year ago

    I don't know how I missed this one! It's full of such color and imagery!

  • I missed this, but it is a beautiful stream of perfect words

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.