Poets logo

Falling Stars and Broken Branches & Dreams That Never Came True

Poem

By Canuck Scriber L.Lachapelle AuthorPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 1 min read
9

Dear Love,

If wishes were true I'd unwrap each one in front of you

I'd count my sighs if they'd bring me closer

I'd harbour a kiss but it can't even reach you

I'd try even harder but I can't swim that far

My life is unwavering by circumstance but what am I to do?

You said to wait so I am trying on patience instead of you

I wait for your love notes each morning and night and when they are not there I fear in your thoughts I've disappeared

So I wait until I know what you want and when

...

Then, patterns take a stand and I feel as if I am some kind of proof

That you don't own anything here

Yet the world is your oyster

While I am some kind of mini-course of what doesn't matter

Wasted feelings are a turning point

A mentored heart is learning something new

A tapered patron brings the fond closer

Falling stars and broken branches mean dreams that don't come true

So I guess one day maybe I'll see you only if I look over my shoulder

After my world is brand new

*

Copyright © 2023 Lisa A Lachapelle. All rights reserved.

Lachapelle’s links: Vocal Stories & Website

Leave a tip or a pledge if you wish to and I in turn will wish for you.

If you would like to be updated on all my writing just sign in to Vocal for free and click Subscribe on my work. Or brighten my day with an email [email protected]. Seeking An Art Patron, for details, just ask.

sad poetrylove poems
9

About the Creator

Canuck Scriber L.Lachapelle Author

Published Poet and Author. Making rainy days feel like Sundays with words.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  4. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

Add your insights

Comments (7)

Sign in to comment
  • 𝐑𝐌 𝐒𝐭𝐨𝐜𝐤𝐭𝐨𝐧about a year ago

    Beautiful <3

  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    This is great. Love those last two lines. Fabulous

  • Mariann Carrollabout a year ago

    I love how you explain the title in the end. Nicely done 🥰

  • We have been fed so long the idea that what is preface is the story, or at the very least, its climax. Romantic comedies & Disney fairytales (not the Brothers Grimm--they're brutal), suggest to us that the moment of "Yes" is the end of the story, that "& they lived happily ever after" is to be assumed. I remember how, the night before our wedding, my fiancé got extremely cold feet. I worked so hard to reassure her & get her through our wedding day, it wasn't until the morning after that it hit me like a load of bricks. We'd really done this. And now everything has changed. It literally took my breath away, a panic attack from which I had to take a while to recover. But it was all but the beginning of our story, barely through the first chapter. And love is something that as both grown & been something we've had to rediscover each & every day of the past 37 years. Of course, before that I was living what you have described & thoroughly convinced that all but your last line were forever to be true of me. When I first met my wife, she completely forgot about our first date. She went out with friends instead. I sat on the table outside her dorm room for two hours, with each passing moment convincing myself more deeply & certainly that no one would ever love me, that I was simply not worthy. When she returned, saw me there, remembered & said yes to still doing something, the last line of your poem broke forth for me into the realm of possibility. It has continued to do so every day for over 37 years now. In case you haven't figured it out yet, I felt your poem deeply. It resonated with me thoroughly. Thank you for sharing it with us.

  • Dana Crandellabout a year ago

    Very powerfully written!

  • The last 2 lines was so powerful!

  • Lovely words and a beautiful image

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.