Poets logo

In a World Full of Cross Your Hearts

A Poem

By Canuck Scriber L.Lachapelle AuthorPublished about a year ago 1 min read
10
Pexels Art

Story starts and cross your hearts and a l'il bit of a song

Everything is not a red alert

Or get your head outta that skirt

I just want to move along

The hand is quicker than the eye is over there on your side

I'm just trying to get by

I'm just trying to get by

The silence once was so incredible

I had to learn to string the words together

Just to make a start

As if a vowel had more meaning

Than a trick-or-treat greeting

In a world of cross your hearts

What do you feel?

I feel a touch from my toes to my groovy soul

How 'bout you?

The same

How don't you know?

And I'm in the dreamy kind of somewhere in between your shadow, your light, and that feeling

Then reality strikes and it's like

Where are all the cool people anymore

I hope you know the greeting

*

Copyright © 2023 Lisa A Lachapelle. All rights reserved.

Lachapelle’s links: Vocal Stories & Website

Leave a tip or a pledge if you wish to and I in turn will wish for you.

If you would like to be updated on all my writing just sign in to Vocal for free and click Subscribe on my work. Or brighten my day with an email [email protected]. Seeking An Art Patron, for details, just ask.

performance poetrysocial commentary
10

About the Creator

Canuck Scriber L.Lachapelle Author

Published Poet and Author. Making rainy days feel like Sundays with words.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (10)

Sign in to comment
  • Chisi limiabout a year ago

    Love the poem.

  • Cendrine Marrouatabout a year ago

    Wow! That reminds me of automatic writing, which I practiced years ago. Did you write this at night?

  • Mariann Carrollabout a year ago

    So poetic, love the words 🥰

  • ❤️❤️❤️

  • I love how this flows

  • Oh this was so amazing!

  • Gal Muxabout a year ago

    feel a touch from my toes to my groovy soul - powerful words you feel them.

  • The Invisible Writerabout a year ago

    Great poem loved the style of this

  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    A vowel had more meaning than a trick-or-treat greeting. Love that line. Great poem.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.