Poets logo

Disingenuous Inverse Attempt

An entry into the Inverse Challenge which I dedicate to Cathy holmes

By Rachel DeemingPublished 3 months ago 1 min read
12
Disingenuous Inverse Attempt
Photo by adrian millon on Unsplash

I can't write inverse poems

This I tell myself

But

I try

Willing the words to come

To make paradoxical sense

When read

Either way

The challenge seems insurmountable

Until the lines appear

It's not great

I can write inverse poems

inspirationalStream of ConsciousnesshumorFree VerseFor Funart
12

About the Creator

Rachel Deeming

Storyteller. Poet. Reviewer. Traveller.

I love to write. Check me out in the many places where I pop up:

Medium

My blog

Reedsy

Linkedin

Goodreads

X

Facebook

Beware of imitators.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

Add your insights

Comments (13)

Sign in to comment
  • Randy Wayne Jellison-Knock3 months ago

    Even when you think you can't, you can, my friend.

  • Joe O’Connor3 months ago

    “The challenge seems insurmountable Until the lines appear It's not great” is the bit that stood out to me, and I like how the simplicity of the lines makes them stand out, like affirmations of ability or inability either way😊

  • Joe Patterson3 months ago

    Well done.

  • Cathy holmes3 months ago

    And, there you go! You did it, and it makes sense. Great job. And thanks for the shout out. Hold on! Are you call me a cow? lmao.

  • D.K. Shepard3 months ago

    Very nice! They’re elusive pieces! This was a fun one!

  • John Cox3 months ago

    Look at you! When in doubt make em laugh! Your poem rocks, Rachel! And the cow, doing what cows do, is a hoot.

  • Well done… the very thought of writing Inverse poems makes my head spin 😳

  • 😁And just like that, you did it. Very clever and fun!

  • Paul Stewart3 months ago

    hahahahhaha. Love this. Like...really...I love your attitude to stuff...like you know what's not right for you and what is...always admire that. And that Deeming humour is there lol. Before I read the comments I figured the cow image was important to the sentiments lol. TBH though...it is actually a good inverse poem and love the humour a lot. And like you say...you've had a go!

  • Hannah Moore3 months ago

    Ha ha! Proved yourself right. And wrong.

  • Oooo, that's definitely two very distinct meanings there, when read forwards and in reverse. I'd say you nailed this challenge!

  • L.C. Schäfer3 months ago

    It's way better than I could do...

  • Alex H Mittelman 3 months ago

    I like this! For someone who claimed they can’t write inverse poems, you did a great job 😍😃

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.