Poets logo

Dear Envy, I…

(An open letter to my greatest foe.)

By Gina C.Published about a year ago Updated about a year ago 5 min read
32
Image created with Midjourney.

Dear Envy,

I…

am not certain I will ever be

sure of all the damage you

have done to me.

Could it be that maybe, we

have come to co-exist amid

a menagerie of twisted notions, where

I fly?

Oh Envy, I….

admit that I have always felt you were

my enemy…

but now I’ve come to realize I

may not [[have ever]] come to be

the “me” I’m known to be, you see

without my constant nursing on

your lies.

*

Dear Jealousy,

I was there when you first came to be, you

were just a seedling

(needing)

water and the sunlight from

my mind.

Oh, how quickly you

crashed into me and grew…

{{you}}

distracted me,

attached to me,

and before I knew it, you…

enwrapped me with those ivy vines (of which)

my starry eyes could not see through.

*

Oh Envy, I…

always tried my best to feel you weren’t a

wicked, green-eyed phantom…

(and I wanted to)

assume you picked me just by random,

but

the more I think that I remember, I

believe you must have always known…

that I was ember-love, (abandoned)… I

was stranded with my broken bones, you

honed in on me and twisted all your

viscid vines around my skinny ankles;

I was strangled and my

Guardian Angel didn’t have a fighting chance to

block your tricky angle, you

tied up her wrists with all your leafy,

needy tangles, you

[[somehow made me feel you were my only option...]]

before I ever even

had a chance to blossom, I

was quickly withered out from all [[your shade]]…

and every time I met someone with something that I thought

I wanted...

I never felt that I was good enough,

(and that’s because)

I lacked self-love (and so I)

walked the shores of life so haunted and

[[so plagued]] -

all the while *wondering why*

and when and

what if I was something different…., oh -

in hindsight - looking back now - I

understand the reason why I didn’t have

a God within to help me grow.

*

Dear Envy,

I….

admit I still can’t really even

see what you were after,

(because)

after all is said and done, I

believe I’m prone to think I would have always

been a sad disaster EITHER WAY,

but the saddest part is that I tend to

think it doesn’t matter,

(that we)

were destined to be

enemies that shattered

BOUNDARIES, (turned) to lovers…

...that we...

awaited all throughout the universal void

[[of all the time that ticks away]]…

>>just so you could hunt me down on Earth and wonder<<

how it'd be to

bleed me out - devoid -

(all while my trust in you transpired);

>>>>because as I

sipped on your {{green fire}} like

a poison beaujolais...

you were busy making other plans, (I see)...

you were busy making me your prey.

*

Dear necrotizing, evil hunger...

you are more than just a phantom (from my)

tandem younger years, you

have raised me to believe (you are)

a mother figure to my fear;

every time I cannot reach my destination...

[[you come alive with your diseased intentions...]]

and cast me in the shadows of

my friends

my blood

[[my peers]]...

and while I smile and I celebrate their victory,

underneath it all, I...

I hate to say it, Envy, but

I'm filled with hate that sickens me;

!!!not for them!!!,

(and not for you)

but for myself (because)

I let the cycle replicate within me through and through...

I let your venom frenzy;

I let this tangled game you play

weigh heavily on my shoulders (and)

ensue.

*

And Envy, I

can't fathom how to stop you.

Oh Envy, I'm...

incarcerated by these ivy vines that wrap around my neck and

misconstrue...

my understanding of what

{{motivation is}};

sometimes I think that how we co-exist is symbiotic, but

the truth is that it's

purely just a mess and catastrophically chaotic, and

that's what "collocation" is -

two opposing forces placed together,

juxtaposed and forced to live (tied by a tether) -

and in nature that will (almost always mean)

one will decompose and {{one will be}}

*superior*, realistically.

*

Oh, Envy, you...

are not the lesson that I chose for me,

but then again - perhaps you are -

when I was just a *soul among the stars*...

perhaps I chose this road (before I was transposed into)

my earthly, worried being...

Oh, Envy, there

has to be more good to you than what

I'm seeing...

but all I see is {{ivy twisted over me}};

contorting me

[[conforming me]]

transforming me (into my) lesser self

and state of mind...

and I'm dying (for I know)

*that somewhere*, deep within my soul

that this is not the way

that I was meant to be designed.

*

Dear Envy, I

would like to say goodbye to you;

(I think that you should find)

another fortress to ascend...

I'll admit that I

have learned from you

(though the lessons, they...)

have burned right through my

will to thank you and pretend...

{{that you were sent by heaven to refine me}};

Dear Envy, I...

have only learned you're not

my friend.

*

Dear Envy, I

envision you...

growing in a garden ruled

by ferns;

your little ivy leaves (grow up) the castle wall...

(but then the Queen comes out and burns down all)

her kingdom so it falls (because of your) uncouthness,

and you are left as just [[a skeleton]]

of ugly secrets and your truth...

then all the ferns and flowers crowd around you

and (together) they vow discreetly that you

will never be allowed to grow or loom...

and all the lilies of my youth (can finally)

** *{{spread their leaves and bloom}}* **.

Oh Envy, I...

feel that I can finally say it now -

goodbye to you, adieu,

A Fortress Tall Without You

*

-Gina C. ✨🧚‍♀️

*

Author's note: This poem was written for the Epistolary Challenge. :)

This poem is part of my Signature collection, which is rich in rhyme, very lyrical, quite expansive, and often full of notable, magical elements. If you are interested in reading more poems from this collection, try this one:

Thank you so much for reading! ☺️

I'd be over the moon if we could support each other! I am an active member in the Vocal + Assist, Great Incantations, and Vocal Social Society Facebook groups. Posting your work there is the best way for me to support you! :) ❤️

inspirational
32

About the Creator

Gina C.

Achievements:

  • Twice-published in Vocal's Moment of Freedom Collection:

My Soul of Red

Free Verse

Free-Form poet of ethereal style🧚‍♀️✨

Fantasy writer

A sucker for a good rhyme

Follow my Ghosts of Relationships' Past series:)

TT: poetry.in_pajamas

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  4. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

Add your insights

Comments (28)

Sign in to comment
  • Jay Kantor12 months ago

    Dear Ms. Gina - I must say I'm just a 'Sucker' with 'Envy' as you Thrust me towards your Charming Rhymes - Jay

  • Rob Angeli12 months ago

    Very beautiful and troubling, the reader feels completely entwined in the poison ivy of jealousy.

  • GRACEPSALM ANDREWabout a year ago

    Great story ❤️❤️

  • Gary Ragnarssonabout a year ago

    I am genuinely in awe. This piece of writing swept me off my feet, you’re spectacular! Such beautiful presentation and wonderful flow, I loved how the pace picked up and dropped off at the exact right moments. Like I said, awestruck. Super happy to have found your work!

  • Novel Allenabout a year ago

    Feelings are a natural part of us. They will pop us when we least expect them to. I love the fight with the vines, it is exactly what we are entangled in every day. Breaking out is a freeing expression. Lovely poem.

  • Grz Colmabout a year ago

    Trying to catch up on members stories etc (with much difficulty - there is a lot! ) ;) I really enjoyed this creative piece Gina and the breadth you’ve given the two opposing forces. I particularly liked the imagery of the vines.. perfect symbol to capture the toxic emotion/feeling of envy. 😊✨ thanks for sharing!

  • Paul Stewartabout a year ago

    Just great! felt it all and it's so relatable! well done!

  • KJ Aartilaabout a year ago

    Brilliant!! 🌟

  • Heather Hublerabout a year ago

    I'm simply astounded not only by your natural ability to weave words and rhythm, but you add the part that is often missing, heart. I could feel it all with you as I know I've experienced many of these same thoughts. And I love how it ended in self-care and strength. Fantastic work, but I expected nothing less :)

  • Mariann Carrollabout a year ago

    Excellent work 😍👏

  • Cendrine Marrouatabout a year ago

    Fantastic read! I like your use of punctuation to prod and question the status quo. It's an immersive experience for us.

  • Gosh I really felt the suffocation and the wrath from Envy throughout your poem. It was just so hard to breath but so easy to hate ourselves. The ending was so liberating. So beautiful my sweet friend!

  • O Gina, the driving cadences, internal rhymes & relentless narrative, so reminiscent of Amanda Gorman, is breathlessly compelling. Compelling is not strong enough, for in its drivenness it drives us without rest, either to destruction itself or the hope you have chosen. We find ourselves swept with you up into the whirlwind, seemingly beyond our control even as we yearn with desperate longing simply to say, "No."

  • Kristen Balyeatabout a year ago

    Gina, this is phenomenal! Such vivid and raw emotion, and your structure was truly masterful. I really loved the comparison to ivy- I truly felt the entanglement throughout (I think we have all faced this very real human emotion at some point in time) and your power over it in the end was enlightening- just a decision to let it go. “goodbye to you, adieu, A Fortress Tall Without You” Those lines are so powerful! So well done!

  • Deanna Fratusabout a year ago

    This was really thought provoking and descriptive. Nice job.

  • Nora Novakabout a year ago

    So good! I love your free-flowing rhythm. I feel like my poems are little cousins that want to grow up to be like your poems. :)

  • Brannan K.about a year ago

    Waxing poetic is an understatement with you! This was fantastic. Your notifications are my favorite to see at this point.

  • The Invisible Writerabout a year ago

    This was so deep and symbolic bravo Gina! These last two poems were epic

  • Donna Reneeabout a year ago

    ❤️❤️❤️Wow… the description throughout is just sooooo good! “necrotizing, evil hunger” 😩😩 Sending you hugs!

  • Andrei Z.about a year ago

    Yes, it's beautifully written!!

  • Dana Stewartabout a year ago

    Your cognizant sincerity is so refreshing. This is quite the masterpiece! You have a gift! ❤️

  • Leslie Writesabout a year ago

    A peek inside the complexities associated with a very human emotion. There is nothing wrong with feeling the feelings - it’s what you do with them that counts! You are a beautiful soul and this is a beautiful expressive poem 💖

  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    Envy is a wicked beast, but love the victorious ending. Great piece, as always. Well done, my friend.

  • J. S. Wadeabout a year ago

    Wow. The sensory struggle, nip and tuck battles. I love the Victorious finale! What would be amazing is if you opened a you tube channel and read this aloud. Or performed it. Your poems are like one person plays. They would be a huge hit. Love it 🥰

  • Moe Radosevichabout a year ago

    Awesome Gina, 😊

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.