Poets logo

Dear best friend

--

By Melissa IngoldsbyPublished 10 months ago β€’ Updated 10 months ago β€’ 1 min read
Top Story - June 2023
28
Dear best friend
Photo by Marco Mons on Unsplash

Dear best friend,

Trust me, I know how this feels. When I was working on a short story for school about a character named Jack, he was mysterious to me. Revealing slowly his dark family trauma, it was difficult and I remember feeling like it was hard to relay... Much like John’s even more terrible past with her mother, but it truly is revealed for a reason.

These things can be incredibly hard to get out. The character needs to say it. Needs someone to hear it.

Letting them have that platform, soap box to stand on, so to speak, will give you the room to also finish the story the way you need to after.

The darkness inside of the character does not have to define them. It does not have to engulf them and carry them to a hellish abyss. It's like a strange halo hanging in the bright summer sky. It is a weird thing to see... But it's there for a reason. Fighting it and ignoring it won't make it go away.

It can help them on their journey to salvation. To love. To hope.

Sometimes, to real atonement with God. Like my John.

I know that you know what's best for your plot and characters. If you need to tone down the darkness, do so, and keep the important parts.

I believe in you, my dear.

Keep me updated!! I can't wait to read this story. I'm very excited to see it!

Love,

Melissa

excerpts
28

About the Creator

Melissa Ingoldsby

I am a published author on Patheos.

I am Bexley is published by Resurgence Novels here.

The Half Paper Moon is available on Golden Storyline Books for Kindle.

My novella Carnivorous is to be published by Eukalypto soon! Coming soon

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (19)

Sign in to comment
  • Gloria Anderson10 months ago

    Nice read! Interesting. Great!

  • Cathy holmes10 months ago

    This is wonderful. Congrats on the TS

  • Alex H Mittelman 10 months ago

    Thats great! And I’ve written a few new characters myself recently. I like your writing a lot!

  • Winnie Asare10 months ago

    nice piece and congrats on the TS

  • Ruth Stewart10 months ago

    I love this. I have a character knocking around in a novel/novella I will write. I fear the character is too like me, and I am revealing too much of myself, so it's ground to a halt right now. So she is left in the darkness at the moment. I'll have to go and give her some light. Thanks for writing this; it's awesome.

  • I can't wait to read the story, too. Will we ever have the opportunity. It is said the addicts need to hit rock bottom before they will seek help & get better. Only when the darkness becomes whelming will we turn to seek out the light.

  • Denise E Lindquist10 months ago

    Wow! NiceπŸ’•πŸ˜Š

  • Caroline Jane10 months ago

    Epistles are like key holes into conversations. Reading them is like listening at doors. It is lovely when you find kindness and empowering words. ❀

  • Great words and congratulations on your Top Story Sis

  • Donna Renee10 months ago

    This is such great advice and I just love how kind you are ❀️

  • Dana Stewart10 months ago

    You certainly pen letters with flair! Congratulations on Top Story πŸŽ‰

  • Naomi Gold10 months ago

    I have enjoyed this series so much. Even though it isn’t written to me, it sometimes feels as if it could’ve been. This letter especially, because of this paragraph: β€œThe darkness inside of the character does not have to define them. It does not have to engulf them and carry them to a hellish abyss. It's like a strange halo hanging in the bright summer sky. It is a weird thing to see... But it's there for a reason. Fighting it and ignoring it won't make it go away.” My fiction is never really fiction, because the protagonist always ends up being some version of me. And I never get to control what they say or do. It’s an aspect of me that just needs to get out, and isn’t defined by what happened to me. That isn’t where the story ends. The way you described this is so succinct and poetic. Congrats on Top Story! πŸ₯‚

  • Real Poetic10 months ago

    Congrats on TS πŸ₯³

  • The most recent issue of Writer's Digest talks about this very thing. There is a lot of focus on nano writing because it requires a different skill set and critical way of thinking about what is essential. But a novel, as you speak of here, affords the latitude to expand. Congratulations on Top Story!

  • Dana Crandell10 months ago

    Great job on this one, Melissa! Congratulations on Top Story!

  • Awesome ✨ and Congratulations πŸŽ‰β€οΈπŸ˜‰

  • Conor Darrall10 months ago

    This is heart healing and beautiful. I need to read this twice a day. I adore it x

  • Babs Iverson10 months ago

    Fantastic!!! Left some love!!!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

Β© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.