Poets logo

Stunning narrative switch

--

By Melissa IngoldsbyPublished 10 months ago 1 min read
5
Stunning narrative switch
Photo by Scott Rodgerson on Unsplash

she turned the light on for me, you see

my eyes sewn shut, she took out the dirty thread

The crying raven switched the narrative so cleverly

Stunning, after-all

A turn of events to keep me

Feeling like I would fall

If I left him

I kept my crypt nearby

I knew I was meant to die

If I did not try

To escape that raven’s cool clutches

If I left now

His little raven murder family

Would cry that I was the villain!

Oh

What a stunning

Narrative switch!

She left the light on and I kept it on

Filling that empty hole with a

New secret wish.

inspirationalheartbreak
5

About the Creator

Melissa Ingoldsby

I am a published author on Patheos.

I am Bexley is published by Resurgence Novels here.

The Half Paper Moon is available on Golden Storyline Books for Kindle.

My novella Carnivorous is to be published by Eukalypto soon! Coming soon

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Randy Wayne Jellison-Knock10 months ago

    That abusive flip of narrative by those who abuse, where all we can do is allow the light to keep shining until others figure out what's really been going on.

  • Sadly, it's always like that! We try to leave the toxicity behind and bam we're the villain! Loved your poem Merly!

  • Nice❤️😉📝❗

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.