Poets logo

Communication Is A Juggling Act

When I'm In Over My Head

By Kelli Sheckler-AmsdenPublished 2 years ago 1 min read

Everyone’s process is different, they say.

I don’t want this taking any more of my time.

I’m lost standing here, forever stuck in one place,

like - I’m a victim of some random crime.

*

What do I do, do you know what to do?

Should I be crying or angry as hell?

Packing up boxes and putting this away,

out of sight - nice and neat on a shelf?

*

I want to convince myself - it was only a dream,

some nightmares that are still in my head.

Roll over and get moving - get on with the day,

wake up - and get out of this bed.

*

But that’s not reality, none of its true -

I’m here, I’m still standing, motionless, here.

Waiting for the right mindset I need,

that make the next steps I have to take, clear

*

I’m shutting down and we’re both feeling stupid,

watching it play out - like some movie scene.

And I know - I just keep pushing away,

any chance you could still come save me.

*

So, if you really want to know, how to help me,

I know it’s intimidating. holding your peace.

Don’t try to fix me or make it alright

Just simply show up, and be

love poems

About the Creator

Kelli Sheckler-Amsden

Telling stories my heart needs to tell <3 life is a journey, not a competition

If you like what you read, feel free to leave a tip, I would love some feedback

Find me on twitter @kelli7958958

or facebook

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

  • Cathy holmes2 years ago

    Great flow with lots of emotion. Well done.

  • J. S. Wade2 years ago

    The song “Send in the Clowns” in a rap remix floats in my head. Great poem Kelli. 🥰

Kelli Sheckler-AmsdenWritten by Kelli Sheckler-Amsden

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.