Poets logo

Anthi Speaks to My Soul

A Dialogue

By Patrick M. OhanaPublished 20 days ago 2 min read
Photo by Fa Barboza on Unsplash

“How long have you been around the world?” my Anthi asked my soul, which seems to prefer to live within her, finding me, M, soul-inhospitable.

I do not count the years; I accumulate levels of awareness, as you already know too well.

“I guess that I have to be more explicit. How many levels have you mastered?” my Anthi reiterated.

I do not count the levels either; I simply exist in one until I find myself in another, as you already know too well.

(Why is Anthi asking these questions if she already knows the answers too well? My soul must be a snob of some brand.)

“At what level are you in this cat’s, I mean man’s life?” my Anthi countered, still smiling as she always does to me, her M.

It is an interesting level since the body is in constant upheaval, although it has changed drastically since it met your body.

“I know the latter. What is an interesting level?” my Anthi replied, looking at the sky, probably trying to diffuse her budding impatience and think of me, her M.

It is a level where the outcome is not certain and thus can change as if free will was involved. It seems like an illusion to the body, but the soul knows better.

“Methinks, as my M loves to say, that you are a snob,” my Anthi said, appearing more serious than an unbiased geography textbook.

I can understand M not wanting me within him, but you puzzle me.

“No wonder my M never believed in the soul, and still does not in many ways. Why are your answers so cryptic?” my Anthi retorted.

(I would have kissed my Anthi at that point had I been next to her.)

Souls are forever. All bodies die. This can only be understood by us, not by them; well, most of them.

“My M will hate you even more for your answer and does not care at all if you exist or not. He loves the body more than anything,” my Anthi declared and ended her conversation.

(Upon recounting her dialogue with my soul, I could not stop laughing, that is until I began cursing it and swearing to never let it in me ever again. How come I am not dead, then? I wondered. It did not take me long to understand that Anthi was keeping me alive with her love, and that as long as my soul was in her, I would be alive too. It seems that I will die when my Anthi dies. ’Tis an interesting equation: [M - Soul] + Anthi = Life.)

surreal poetrylove poems

About the Creator

Patrick M. Ohana

A medical writer who reads and writes fiction and some nonfiction, although the latter may appear at times like the former. Most of my pieces (over 2,200) are or will be available on Shakespeare's Shoes.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

Add your insights

Comments (3)

  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran20 days ago

    Awww, Anthi is keeping you alive! Loved this!

  • ❤️❤️❤️

  • It is mesmerizing.

Patrick M. OhanaWritten by Patrick M. Ohana

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.