Poets logo

An Ode to my Thesaurus

With a little help from Horatio

By Dana CrandellPublished 9 months ago Updated 9 months ago 2 min read
36
An Ode to my Thesaurus
Photo by Laura Ohlman on Unsplash

Come to me, my dear Thesaurus,

Valued as if thou were aurous,

Bless me with the words I seek

To make my narrative less bleak!

*

Safe within thy dogeared pages

Lie the words of saints and sages

Cloistered with their synonyms

To be penned in psalms and hymns.

*

Let the fruits of thy grand larder

Raise my humble poems of ardor

'Til they ring in Heaven's halls,

Echoing from marble walls.

*

When my ineloquence ails me

Thy abetment never fails me.

Thou continually foster

All the works of this impostor.

*

In the quest for fame and glory

Thy words live in every story

And this timeworn brontosaurus

Bows to thee, my dear Thesaurus.

***

Author's Note: If my research is accurate, this poem can be classified as a Horation Ode. Here's one source that supports my conclusion: https://www.poetrymagnumopus.com/topic/1120-the-horatian-ode/

It seems Horatio may have been as lazy as me. Just kidding. I was pleased to find that there's room for the iamb and regular quatrains in the definition, at least according to some.

I'm still studying forms and structures and may try to strain my brain with a more structured entry later. I am actually having fun learning more about this poetic style and all of its nuances. I am also, occasionally, asking myself "Why?" My current theory is that the old poets promoted their sorrow by creating torturously demanding forms.

As always, thanks for reading my random ramblings. I'm thankful to Vocal for presenting us with this challenge and I'm going to really enjoy reading all the marvelous creations it's going to encourage. Here's the information and your chance to enter:

Last, and perhaps least, here's my unabashed self-promotional blurb:

1. Leave a comment. I'd love to hear your thoughts on odes and I love feedback on my writing.

2. See that little heart just a bit below this list? Click it. Easy-peasy!

3. Scroll down a bit more and you'll find 3 big buttons. With those, you can:

  • Subscribe for FREE to get a notice when I post something new (unless the button says “Unsubscribe” in which case, clicking it would be silly.)
  • “Pledge Your Support” which just means you can help support my writing here with a small monthly donation. You don't have to take an oath or anything.
  • Leave a one-time tip. A buck means a lot. Ten thousand bucks means you're probably crazy, but I love ya' anyway!

inspirationalhumor
36

About the Creator

Dana Crandell

Dad, Stedpad, Grandpa, Husband, lover of Nature and dogs.

Poet, Writer, Editor, Photographer, Artist and Tech/Internet nerd. Content writer by trade. Vocal Creator by choice.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (31)

Sign in to comment
  • Mother Combs8 months ago

    Wonderful Ode

  • Jazzy 9 months ago

    Absolutely stunning! 😁

  • L.C. Schäfer9 months ago

    I love it - I always feel more poems should rhyme, and I especially like this snippy snappy rhythm that's so fun to read aloud 😁 Thank you for the educational bit at the end - its an area I'm totally ignorant in.

  • This was so fun to read. "Thou continually foster--All the works of this impostor" resonated with me! 🙂 The entire piece is fantastic!

  • Harmony Kent9 months ago

    Love it, Dana! Very well done, indeed. Where would we be without the humble thesaurus?! 💕🙂

  • Joe Patterson9 months ago

    This is really good. Kinda reminds me of ancient poetry like in biblical times.

  • Real Poetic9 months ago

    Lol I so relate to this one Dana! I don’t know what I would do without my thesaurus.

  • Cendrine Marrouat9 months ago

    Fantastic, as always. To be honest, I don't think they knew what they were doing. They just wrote whatever insanity made sense to them. LOL!

  • Gina C.9 months ago

    I was pretty sure I had already read this one - I did! I'd just forgotten to heart it. It's hearted now! Just as amazing the second time around :)

  • Hannah Moore9 months ago

    I thought this was really fun and playful, nice work.

  • Oooo, a Horation ode! Mike did a specific type of ode too but I forgot its name. It started with a P. Anyway, I loved your ode!

  • Well done entry

  • Tiffany Gordon 9 months ago

    So clever and well done!

  • Lamar Wiggins9 months ago

    This is a strong entry, my friend. Very well done!

  • Jay Kantor9 months ago

    Hi Doc Dana - Spoke to the other Doc - our Gen misses you J-Bud

  • Naomi Gold9 months ago

    I love this challenge, because I think the objects people choose to write about reveal much of who they are. It’s a fun way for me to psychoanalyze my Vocal faves. 🤪 You choosing a thesaurus makes sense to me, because you are a wordsmith. It also says you are practical. You chose something you use for your career, your livelihood. I’m choosing something ridiculous. And I’ve never even used a thesaurus. I probably should. I love that you explored a specific type of ode, mastered it, and shared the info with us. I shall travel down that rabbit hole now, and procrastinate writing my ode. 😄

  • Donna Fox (HKB)9 months ago

    I love this ode to an oh-so-dangerous weapon! A thesaurus can be many things... a vocabulary booster, a story lifter and a story sinker... I love my thesaurus dearly and use it daily, but I've seen what happens when it ends up I the wrong hands and it's nothing short a cruel murder of what could have been a great story! I love your view on it though and the way you illustrated your adoration for it! Very clever!

  • This is clever and I enjoyed reading ❤️ Well done

  • Paul Stewart9 months ago

    I will definitely look the link up and do a bit of researching, but this read, looked and felt like a classic ode. So much sophistication and elegance in this piece. Awesome job with this. One thing...my eyes were obviously not fully adjusted lol...I read "'Til they ring in Heaven's halls, Echoing from marble walls." as "Heaven's balls". I dunno why, but felt you might appreciate that!🤣🤣 This is a great poem though and just love it!👏👏

  • A proper ode from a proper wordsmith. Well done, Dana!

  • Rob Angeli9 months ago

    Not only a great choice as to object, but a fantastic job on the rhyme and rhythm. The thesaurus is definitely a great treasure (which is what that means in Latin). I especially like your likening it to a storehouse: "Let the fruits of thy grand larder Raise my humble poems of ardor" Strong work!

  • Hannah E. Aaron9 months ago

    This is such a great ode! I love how you used “larder” in this poem. It truly helps solidify the idea of a thesaurus being a place of storage meant for perusal and use. Awesome job!!

  • Wow, right up there with the sages, my friend

  • Gina C.9 months ago

    A truly wonderful ode! 🤗❤️ I relate to this so much: "Bless me with the words I seek To make my narrative less bleak!" 😅 Story of my life. I love the language you wrote this in too 🤗 Awesome entry!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.