Poets logo

Collier's Junior Classics

A #BookReviewHaiku

By Dana CrandellPublished 10 months ago Updated 10 months ago 1 min read
10
Collier's Junior Classics
Photo by Iñaki del Olmo on Unsplash

A shelf of my own

Among Mom's vast collection

Adventures within

***

I don't know how many readers will be old enough to remember these books. Collier's Encyclopedia was one of the prized collections in my mother's extensive library. The Junior Classics were a "bonus gift" that the salesperson could offer to close the sale. (Encyclopedias were expensive enough then to come with a payment plan and sometimes a subscription plan that allowed you to purchase one volume at a time.)

As a child, I read and reread, and re-reread all 10 volumes. I haven't yet found a photo that I can legally use here, but I'll update the story if and when I can. I did find that the books have been archived here, for anyone interested: https://onlinebooks.library.upenn.edu/webbin/metabook?id=jrclassics

I have to give a shoutout to a great Vocal Creator, Paul Stewart, for inspiring this. Check out one of his brilliant challenge entries, here:

This is an entry to a really fun challenge by another amazing Vocal Creator, Judey Kalchik. Here's her story that started it all, along with the details:

inspirationalbook reviews
10

About the Creator

Dana Crandell

Dad, Stedpad, Grandpa, Husband, lover of Nature and dogs.

Poet, Writer, Editor, Photographer, Artist and Tech/Internet nerd. Content writer by trade. Vocal Creator by choice.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (8)

Sign in to comment
  • L.C. Schäfer9 months ago

    I could swear we had Encyclopaedias too, although not the same ones. Must also have had a parent suckered in by a smooth talking sales guy. 😀

  • C. H. Richard10 months ago

    My mom bought from the sales guy too. She was so proud of them and would get upset if we didn't put it back in the right order. They great for reports for school. Thanks for bringing up a fun memory ❤️

  • Gina C.10 months ago

    Oh, loved this!! I'm not sure we ever had the Collier's collection but I do remember encyclopedias, which I'm pretty sure are a thing of the past now 😅 We had a reddish set and they were always so interesting to me! It's crazy to think that's where we went for all our information! That and the library! Awesome poem!

  • Harmony Kent10 months ago

    Fantastic, Dana. And I love the bit of personal and Encyclopaedic history you gave us 💕🙂

  • Still a classic in my mind.

  • Novel Allen10 months ago

    Encyclopedias were kind of a sign of bragging rights that one was of the educated ilk of society. I remember how proud i was when i got a set. I too read them from cover to cover. Sigh. Books, i still love you.

  • Paul Stewart10 months ago

    Well...Thank you for the shout out, Dana! I'm happy to have been a positive influence on your creativity. I couldn't check out the link as it wasn't working for me? Dunno if it's a me problem or what...I love the poem though, and with the backstory, it makes a lot of sense and is very nostalgic. Great job, sir!

  • Babs Iverson10 months ago

    OMG!!! You hit a memory button!!! ❤️❤️💕

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.