Poets logo

50 Shades of Grey

A #BookReviewHaiku

By J. S. WadePublished 11 months ago Updated 11 months ago 1 min read
12
50 Shades of Grey
Photo by Pip Christie on Unsplash

Teabag on the side-

Bitten lips, rolled eyes ~Desire.

Elevator rides.

🤍⛓️🔥🍦❤️

***

For the Judey Kalchik #BookReviewHaiku unofficial challenge.

Surprised? That one of the hetero male persuasion would read this book? I read all three volumes of the trilogy. How else was I to know what all the fuss was about? 😎 Many critics pounded the writer with negativity. Reading their reviews it became obvious most never read the books and I wanted to be fair.

Sitting in the Philadelphia airport terminal on a two hour layover I pulled the first volume from my briefcase and read. A very attractive business woman, based on her navy blue suit dress, walked by, stopped and stared.

She said, “You can’t be reading that?” Being a bit snarky and tuned up a bit, I said, “Would you like to get some coffee?”

“I drink tea, and no thank you.”

“Bag on the side?”

I heard a “Humphhh” and I swear she rolled her eyes and marched away.

Thank goodness she didn’t bite her lip.

To many, I encroached on a realm they thought off limits but I just wanted to know what the fuss was all about. Besides I am major supporter of education and expanding my horizons.

By the way, my favorite moments, were the …

…Email exchanges. 🤣

Read Judey’s inaugural #BookReviewHaiku linked below.

humorlove poemsbook reviews
12

About the Creator

J. S. Wade

Since reading Tolkien in Middle school, I have been fascinated with creating, reading, and hearing art through story’s and music. I am a perpetual student of writing and life.

J. S. Wade owns all work contained here.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (12)

Sign in to comment
  • Cendrine Marrouat11 months ago

    OK, I LOVE this! Your haiku is 100 times better than the books and movies put together. Your story is also hilarious, have you tried it on other people?

  • Dana Stewart11 months ago

    You’re a renaissance man! Love this review. I found myself bored with the kink, but loved the fanfic inspired plot. Have you read the Twilight series?

  • Admittedly, I had no interest in either the books of the movies. Though I have very good friends (& members of churches I've served) who are both devoted fans & wonderful people. So I take it there are some interesting goings-on in an elevator?

  • Cathy holmes11 months ago

    Great job. Lol at that airport story.

  • Tiffany Gordon 11 months ago

    Fabulous work!

  • I've never read any of the books but I've watched all three movies. I tried reading the third one, Fifty Shades Freed but I just couldn't get into it. But what I've always said about this story is, if Christian Grey wasn't hot and rich, this would have become a story of sexual harrasment or something of that sort, lol!

  • Babs Iverson11 months ago

    Amazing!!! 😎🥰

  • @puja11 months ago

    Nice story

  • Heather Hubler11 months ago

    I love that you did this one!! I've read the trilogy :) Clever use of words there...

  • C. H. Richard11 months ago

    You know I may be the only woman left who has not read this trilogy, just didn't get around to it and now I want to - lol. Great job 🩶

  • Kendall Defoe 11 months ago

    I was waiting for someone to cover this one!

  • Judey Kalchik 11 months ago

    That is an interesting exchange! There are some women, i should think, that would PAY to have their partners read the books and explore something new. ... and maybe improve their email... technique?

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.